Home Aperçus Clash in the Sea of Azov  : What the GEAB stated five months ago (GEAB N°126 – June 2018)

Clash in the Sea of Azov  : What the GEAB stated five months ago (GEAB N°126 – June 2018)

Ukraine continues to create a significant barrier between Europe and Russia, forcing EU member states to abandon the dynamics of community to preserve interests intrinsically linked to the fluidity of their relations with Russia. Individually, these countries (Italy, Austria, Hungary, Greece, Germany, France, etc.), in a more or less ostentatious way, are ignoring the Ukrainian question, but as soon as they get together, the intangible rule of ‘the defence of the territorial integrity of Ukraine’ prevents any progress. The famous G7 Communique provides yet another example of this pathological lack of imagination: ‘We reiterate our condemnation of the illegal annexation of Crimea and reaffirm our enduring support for Ukrainian sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity within its internationally-recognized borders.’[1]

Map of Crimea. Source: Geolinks

There are, however, other more consensual predicates that could lead to an agreement to unblock the situation rather than stay locked in this sterile trap. Russia will never agree to let go of Sevastopol, full stop![2] This new hypocrisy in international diplomacy could turn Europe and Russia into what the Middle East has become as a result of the similarly hypocritical so-called ‘unconditional support to the Palestinians’ with no means of enforcing the consequences of that support.

The Ukrainian problem does not seem any close to being resolved, even though ‘shameful’ relations are gradually being re-established between Europeans and Russians. And the last Normandy-style meeting has not contradicted us on this point.[3] It is good that they met, but the conclusions are inept. The Ukrainians remain the Palestinians of Europe, whilst Europeans assume the role of Arabs (supported by former world power) and the Russians (supported by the new world power, China), manages better to get by.

We had anticipated an easing of Euro-Russian relations in the last GEAB issue. Now it’s here. However, a real resolution of the problem remains illusory at this stage. We will review our expectations as we approach the Ukrainian presidential election on 31st March 2019…

We have all rights to anticipate scuffles in the Sea of Azov[4] or even in the Baltic Sea …

Register for the GEAB

______________________

[1]   Source: European Council, 09/06/2018
[2]   Source: Wikipedia
[3]   In fact, we found no trace on the Internet about those discussions. On the meeting itself, here: German Foreign Affairs Ministry statement, 12/06/2018
[4]   Source : RFERL, 06/06/2018

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
Related articles
GEAB
05 Dec 2018

The Yellow Vests / Angry nations: What the GEAB announced in June 2016

#democracy #europe #world

The nations are angry, as anticipated in the GEAB since late 2011, and this is a logical consequence of a crisis without historical precedent, a multi-directional crisis of global dimensions [...]

GEAB
28 Sep 2018

2018, between economic upturn and restored prosperity

#currencies #economy #europe

News on the economic front is less severe. The recovery is expected to continue in 2018, partly on the basis of these various returns to slight forms of protectionism; a [...]

GEAB
28 Sep 2018

Member States ready to dismantle the EU

#europe #governance #politics #society

For several years, in the fight between the national and the European levels of governance, it was asserted that the European level was a bulwark against nationalist ‘populisms’, a bastion [...]

Home Aperçus Crise en Mer d’Azov : Ce que le GEAB en disait il y a 5 mois (GEAB N°126 – 15 juin 2018)

Crise en Mer d’Azov : Ce que le GEAB en disait il y a 5 mois (GEAB N°126 – 15 juin 2018)

L’Ukraine reste un verrou puissant entre l’Europe et la Russie, obligeant les états-membres à sortir des dynamiques communes pour préserver des intérêts intrinsèquement liés à la fluidité de leurs relations avec la Russie. Pris isolément, ces pays (Italie, Autriche, Hongrie, Grèce, Allemagne, France, etc…), de manière plus ou moins ostentatoire, font l’impasse sur la question ukrainienne. Mais aussitôt qu’ils sont réunis en cénacle, la règle intangible de « défense de l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine » empêche tout progrès. Le fameux communiqué du G7 fournit un nouvel exemple de ce manque pathologique d’imagination : « Nous réaffirmons notre condamnation de l’annexion illégale de la Crimée et notre soutien constant à la souveraineté, à l’indépendance et à l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine dans ses frontières internationalement reconnues »[1].

Carte de la Crimée – Source geolinks

Il y aurait pourtant d’autres prédicats, plus consensuels, sur lesquels se mettre d’accord pour arriver à débloquer la situation au lieu de se laisser enfermer dans ce piège stérile. La Russie n’acceptera jamais de lâcher Sébastopol[2], point à  la ligne ! Cette nouvelle hypocrisie de la diplomatie internationale pourrait transformer l’Europe et la Russie en ce que le Moyen-Orient est devenu à cause de cette autre grande hypocrisie qu’est ce prétendu soutien inconditionnel aux Palestiniens sans avoir aucun moyen de faire exécuter les conséquences de ce soutien…

Le problème ukrainien ne semble donc pas prêt d’être réglé même si des relations « honteuses » reprennent peu à peu entre Européens et Russes. Et ce n’est pas la dernière réunion du format de Normandie qui nous aura contredits sur ce point : c’est bien qu’ils se soient rencontrés, mais les conclusions sont ineptes[3]. Les Ukrainiens restent les Palestiniens de l’Europe, pendant que les Européens endossent le rôle des Arabes de l’Europe (soutenus par l’ex-puissance mondiale) et que les Russes, soutenus par la nouvelle puissance mondiale (Chine), tirent plutôt mieux leur épingle du jeu.

Nous avons anticipé une détente euro-russe dans le dernier numéro. Elle est bien là. Mais une vraie résolution du problème nous semble plus illusoire à ce stade encore. Nous reverrons nos anticipations à l’approche de l’élection présidentielle ukrainienne le 31 mars 2019.

On est en droit d’anticiper des échauffourées en Mer d’Azov[4] ou même en Mer Baltique…
Abonnez-vous

________________________________________

[1]   Source : Elysée, 10/06/2018
[2]   Source : Wikipedia
[3]   En fait, nous n’en avons trouvé aucune trace sur internet des discussions. Sur la rencontre elle-même : communiqué du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères allemand, 12/06/2018
[4]   Source : RFERL, 06/06/2018

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Articles en relation
GEAB
10 Déc 2018

Cryptomonnaies : De régulations nationales à coordination internationale

#cryptomonnaies #gouvernance #monde

Les cryptomonnaies sont au cœur de bien des interrogations, émanant à la fois des particuliers, des entreprises et des autorités de marchés, donc des États. Leur place dans la vie [...]

GEAB
05 Déc 2018

Gilets jaunes / Colère des peuples : Ce que le GEAB annonçait en juin 2016

#democratie #europe #monde

La colère des peuples anticipée dans le GEAB dès la fin 2011 comme la conséquence logique d’une crise sans précédent historique, multi-directionnelle et de dimension globale à laquelle les niveaux [...]

GEAB
28 Sep 2018

2018 dans l’intervalle entre reprise économique et retour de prospérité

#economie #europe #monnaies

Sur le front économique, en revanche, les nouvelles sont plutôt bonnes. La relance devrait se poursuivre en 2018, en partie d’ailleurs sur la base de ces différents retours à des [...]