Home Insights Is the US the first candidate for inflation or even hyperinflation?

Is the US the first candidate for inflation or even hyperinflation?

What about the risk of inflation or, worse, hyperinflation in the United States this year?

→ This question will be tackled within our collective intelligence during the next GEAB Café, scheduled for 24 February, 2021. This question is taken from the article Europeans on alert! Major uncertainties across the Atlantic (recovery plan, inflation, defence) in the GEAB No 152.

Nobody believes in hyperinflation any more. That said, less than a year ago, nobody believed in inflation either. If the American debt mechanism of the last 20 years produced no apparent inflation, this does not mean that there was no inflation at all – either hidden (within the financial markets) or exported (to developing countries closest to the American sphere of influence, namely Latin America).

The next question is whether the global geopolitical reconfiguration, which has been underway for 20 years, is not likely to reduce the capacity of the United States to divert inflation away from its domestic market. At least that’s what we assume. Three characteristics seem to have presided over German hyperinflation in the early 1920s: the debt ratio, the existence of private currencies, and a high speed of money circulation. If the first point has been ticked for a long time, the emergence of digital currencies and cryptos now fulfils the second condition.

For the time being the monetary velocity is low. However, the American rescue plans are targeting the real economy: supporting purchasing power, financing infrastructure, enabling people to get medical care, etc. All this in a context of a rapid economic recovery “thanks to” the American super-vaccination campaigns, here’s what’s needed to increase the famous traffic speed.

If none of these causes taken individually can bring along fears of an episode of hyperinflation, their simultaneous combination is a real reason for concern. Would the tools for controlling healthy inflation that Janet Yellen has in mind have anything to do with the issue of a Rentendollar, possibly digital, at random, diem-libra?

For the time being, the Fed and the US Treasury are planning to assume a return of inflation which apparently does not frighten them. In fact, in order to refinance itself, the government not being able to count on taxes, inflation will be welcome. But it will still have to be controlled, that way it does not turn into an episode of hyperinflation, and the possible consequences on an impoverished population are cause for concern. The day when the US financial markets stop absorbing the inflation induced by their huge debt levels, it will have to end up somewhere. And given the height of the debt mountain, an inflationary blip could quickly get out of control.

Join us for this debate (in French) in the framework of the upcoming GEAB Café video-conference, scheduled for February 24, 2021. A meeting reserved for our GEAB readers. Ready to attend ? Send us an email at: info@leap2040.eu and get your Zoom access codes.

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
Related articles
GEAB
25 Feb 2021

Reader’s interview: Trends and breaks in education and the agricultural sector (Nicolas Brouté)

The passage to the other side of the mirror, from the world of before to the world of after, disrupts the order of the world at all levels, starting with [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
13 Feb 2021

Coming up, the GEAB of February – Global systemic crisis warning: Restart or reset

(Summary of the GEAB No 152 / February 2021) The coronavirus pandemic has just started to step back and the economy is pretending to show improvements but already, oil is [...]

GEAB
11 Feb 2021

GameStop: a controlled explosion

FROM OUR JUNIOR TEAM / What has really happened in the Gamestop case and what repercussions will there be? Now that the turmoil is over, our junior team will try [...]

Home Aperçus Les Etats-Unis premiers candidats à l’inflation voire l’hyperinflation ?

Les Etats-Unis premiers candidats à l’inflation voire l’hyperinflation ?

Qu’en est-il de l’opportunité d’inflation ou du risque d’hyperinflation aux Etats-Unis cette année ?

C’est la question que nous avons choisie de soumettre à notre intelligence collective à l’occasion du prochain GEAB Café, qui se tiendra le 24 février 2021. Cette interrogation est extraite de l’article  Alerte aux Européens ! Incertitudes majeures outre-Atlantique (plan de relance, inflation, défense) du numéro 152.

Personne ne croit plus à l’hyperinflation. Cela dit, il y a moins d’un an, personne ne croyait à l’inflation. Si la mécanique d’endettement américain des 20 dernières années n’a produit aucune inflation apparente, cela ne signifie pas qu’il n’y avait pas inflation  – cachée (dans les marchés financiers) ou exportée (dans les pays en voie de développement les plus proches de la sphère d’influence américaine comme l’Amérique latine).

Il s’agit alors de se demander si la reconfiguration géopolitique mondiale en cours depuis 20 ans n’est pas de nature à réduire la capacité de détournement de l’inflation loin des porte-monnaie américains. C’est en tous cas ce que nous supposons. Trois caractéristiques semblent avoir présidé à l’hyperinflation allemande au début des années 1920 : le taux d’endettement ; l’existence de monnaies privées ; une forte vitesse de circulation monétaire. Si le premier point est coché depuis longtemps, l’apparition des monnaies numériques et des cryptos remplit désormais la seconde condition.

Pour l’heure la vélocité monétaire est faible. Cependant les plans de sauvetage américains sont fléchés vers l’économie réelle : soutenir le pouvoir d’achat, financer des infrastructures, permettre aux gens de se soigner, etc. Tout cela dans un contexte de redémarrage rapide de l’économie « grâce » aux super-campagnes de vaccination américaine, voici de quoi augmenter la fameuse vitesse de circulation.

Si aucune de ces causes prise individuellement ne peut faire craindre un épisode d’hyperinflation, leur combinaison simultanée est une vraie raison pour s’en préoccuper. Les outils de contrôle d’une saine inflation auxquels pense Janet Yellen auraient-ils à voir avec l’émission d’un Rentendollar, éventuellement numérique, au hasard, diem-libra ?

La Fed et le Trésor américain, prévoient pour l’heure d’assumer un retour de l’inflation qui ne leur fait, apparemment, pas peur. De fait, pour se refinancer, le gouvernement ne pouvant pas compter sur l’impôt, l’inflation sera la bienvenue. Mais encore faudra-t-il la contrôler pour qu’elle ne se transforme pas en épisode d’hyperinflation et les conséquences possibles sur une population appauvrie ont de quoi inquiéter. Le jour où les marchés financiers américains cesseront d’absorber l’inflation induite par leur gigantesque niveau d’endettement, il faudra bien que ladite inflation se retrouve quelque part. Et vue la hauteur de la montagne de dette, une amorce inflationniste pourrait vite être hors de contrôle.

Discutez avec nous, rejoignez notre prochain GEAB Café, qui se tiendra le 24 février 2021. Une rencontre réservée à nos abonnés, inscription sur info@leap2040.eu

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Articles en relation
Geta Grama-Moldovan
04 Mar 2021

Le nouvel épisode de Digging into the future est en ligne !

Notre podcast présentant les thèmes abordés dans notre bulletin mensuel se concentre ce mois-ci sur le redémarrage géoéconomique du système occidental, avec de sérieux doutes quant à sa capacité à [...]

GEAB
25 Fév 2021

Interview de lecteurs : Tendances et ruptures dans l’enseignement et le secteur agricole, Nicolas Brouté

DE LA PART DE NOTRE JUNIOR TEAM /  Le passage de l’autre côté du miroir, du monde d’avant au monde d’après, bouleverse l’ordre du monde à tous niveaux, à commencer [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
13 Fév 2021

Prochainemenet, le GEAB de février – Crise systémique globale : risques de casse au redémarrage

(sommaire du bulletin GEAB 152. Sortie prévue pour le 15 février)   La Covid-19 commence à peine à reculer et l’économie fait mine de redémarrer que, déjà, le pétrole flambe [...]