Abstracts and more

  • pic geab 115 Economics: Good news will be pouring! The French presidential election at the heart of a European takeover of the media narrative May 2017 - The voice of France in the world seemed to have disappeared (at least since 2007), which is a far cry from the brilliance of French diplomacy in 2003 when the country opposed the war in Iraq. And yet, just when we think that the influence of this country was dead and buried, the French presidential election of 2017 gets international attention rarely equalled; a sign that the insignificant France is perhaps not so insignificant when it runs the risk of electing a far-right president into the heart of Europe. But the verdict has fallen and the world can now breathe again[1]: although France is the Western country to have suffered the most from terrorism in recent years, the French have resisted the sirens of xenophobia and retreat, by rejecting the ... Read
  • geab 114 pic Global Systemic Crisis 2017-2021 – A phase of chaotic recomposition of the World: national re-landing, crash or rebound? April 2017 - This expression “chaotic recomposition” seems best to summarise the phase where we currently are with regards to the development of the crisis, a step indicated here as extending over four years and which will include distinct progression phases. It is quite clear that efforts to reorganise the world on a transnational logic have all failed in this first half of 2017: . The inter-or supranational system built in the 20th century (UN, IMF, WB, NATO, etc.) failed to adapt and to oversee the new multipolar geopolitical configuration of the beginning of the 21st century. It is now in full slump, in all its forms, regions included (EU, Mercosur, etc.); . Promising emerging experiences at the end of the first decade of the 21st century, with the G20, the BRICS and ... Read
  • geab 113 pic Trump’s America: the lifting of the US default taboo March 2017 - Without Kissinger to negotiate the petrodollar and put the US currency back to the centre of the global game after the shock of Nixon’s announcement in 1971 to halt the convertibility of the dollar to gold, the greenback would never have been the world benchmark since more than 40 years. Will Trump really know how to surround himself with advisers of the same calibre? Also, will he take their advice? Because a shock of the same magnitude is currently in gestation: it is called ‘payment default’ of the US public debt. It is the taboo which was lifted by the election of Trump. So, will it be a self-fulfilling prophecy or healthy debate? A solution or a total disaster? The unthinkable sovereign default  If there is a country on this ... Read
  • pic geab.eu Global statistical dislocation: the multiplication of tools for measuring economic reality February 2017 - Within the global systemic crisis that we are now experiencing, our experts have been talking for some years about “statistical fog” to qualify the inability of today’s tools to measure real economy, or even the way to manipulate them in order to match results to the political speech (or vice versa). Leaving aside the temptation to manipulate, this “statistical fog” also derives from the fact that the economy is evolving profoundly, and yesterday’s indicators (GDP, unemployment, etc.) are no longer relevant in today’s world. After a few vain attempts to transform these old time indicators, we are able to see new initiatives which we anticipate to be sustainable this time, and which in the short term will form some confusion before harmonizing themselves by 2025, pushed by international bodies such ... Read
  • pic GEAB 111 Money, Finance, Europe, Democracy, Geopolitical Configuration: the GEAB bulletin’s 35 trends January 2017 - Every year, LEAP/E2020 is offering you a short overview of the up and down[1] trends of the year which is starting. In addition to the intellectual interest of this contribution of LEAP/E2020, which of course reflects many of our researchers’ analyses over the past few months, it aims at providing a better perception of priorities within the news, at the same time conveying tracks of recommendations. This list can thus help very concretely the GEAB reader to get prepared for the year to come. With an eleven-year success rate ranging from 69% to 85%, this annual anticipation is a very concrete decision-making tool for the next twelve months. The following 35 Trends highlighted here after are related to the following ten Very Wide Trends for 2017: . The consequences of ... Read
  • pic110 Demon-etisation: India opens with a fanfare the ball of the fiscal QEs December 2016 - Since November 8, 2016, India has created a monetary revolution of a magnitude never seen, both by the size of the population concerned and the depth of the transformation induced. By demonetising the biggest notes of 500 and 1000 Rs (rupees), the Indian government is trying to reintegrate into the official economy the state’s gigantic parallel (or black or more simply the archaic) economy. In a nation where 90% of the transactions are made in cash, a huge part of the financial activity escapes the knowledge of the central government, and therefore statistics, taxes and infrastructure financing. Blue: volume; red: value. Source: Bloomberg. Warning signs There is nothing new in the fact that the central government tries to force its population to declare their wealth. For example, between 1951 and ... Read
  • domino-fr US Elections / Europe / World – Trump’s victory and the domino effect: Will the Euro survive beyond 2017? November 2016 - Donald Trump’s victory in the US presidential election creates the conditions for change, but it is not change yet, contrary to what the media and populists believe. Far from being a “revolution”, the Trump’s advent at the head of the Western system corresponds to a radicalisation of the ex-ante situation. In reality, Trump is the symptom of a Western system which has failed to adapt[1] and is now trying to rule through pure violent rhetoric, by targeting citizens and nations who propose politico-economic counter-models. The method will therefore change, but the objectives and the main principles will not. Among all the uncertainties that remain, we must now understand the subsequent challenges that threaten the rest of the world; especially the Euro zone. Technically, new opportunities for a greater European independence ... Read
  • pic-geab-108 US Isolation: When global finance turns away from the dollar system, it means the cliff is near October 2016 - The United States has been voluntarily isolating itself from the rest of the world, and not just from a geopolitical point of view. This terrible isolation can only get worse, whatever the result of the presidential election: if Trump wins, it will be due to a lack of foreign policy; in the case of Clinton, her iron-fist will have a word. Another domain, namely finance, which has so far been spared, is being added to this political dimension; something which has always been at the centre of America’s power in the world. No wonder this happens at the very moment the US can no longer hold itself. The Deutsche Bank case: a very useful scarecrow  When in trouble, the US always uses the same method, which consists of hiding its ... Read
  • pic-geab-107 American Election – Brexit – Euroland – TTIP – Turkey – Russian Sanctions: What future is there for the European Commission within the big redefinition of the Transatlantic Relationship? September 2016 - Since its creation, the Global Europe Anticipation Bulletin has been designed among other things to inform European public opinion and decision makers about the fact that the global geopolitical reconfiguration vitally requires a profound change of the EU. The United States, structural associate of the European project since its origin – but mostly since the fall of the Berlin Wall – has also changed its role and place in the world. And now, with the global systemic crisis, its transformation emphasises even more the EU’s urgent need to adapt; in terms of its nature, purpose and external relations. But most of all, its need to reform its most emblematic administrative body, the European Commission. Visible Deterioration of the Transatlantic Relationship    A period of thirteen years will have passed since the ... Read
  • GEAB 106 pic Angry nations, democratic challenges, global systemic crisis – Balkanization and returning empires in Central and Eastern Europe: the drama of the failure of European integration and of the Euro-Russian crisis June 2016 - In 2014, our team anticipated the disintegration of the Eastern European flank following the conflict between the EU and Russia. Two years later, the damage has become visible. If Europe and Russia fail to renew any dialogue, the worst is yet to come in this part of Europe, a region where old demons are in full resurrection (Cold War, European wars, balkanization and empires…) and where the failures of the EU enlargement policy are coming to light. Figure 1 – Map of Central and Eastern Europe. Source: KKR. The Integration of Eastern Europe has failed  The biggest failure in the past 30 years of European integration is related to the enlargement policy of the ex-Soviet countries. This policy, essentially driven by the greed of Western European companies (and beyond), was ... Read

Les communiqués publics du GEAB

  • pic geab 115 Les bonnes nouvelles économiques vont pleuvoir ! L’élection présidentielle française au cœur d’une opération européenne de reprise en main de l’information May 2017 - La voix de la France dans le monde semblait avoir disparu depuis 2007 au moins, bien loin de l’éclat de la diplomatie française en 2003 quand le pays s’opposait à la guerre en Irak. Et pourtant, au moment où l’on pensait l’influence de ce pays définitivement enterrée, l’élection présidentielle française de 2017 provoque une attention internationale rarement égalée, signe que l’insignifiante France n’est peut-être finalement pas si insignifiante que cela quand elle risque d’élire une présidente d’extrême droite au cœur de l’Europe. Mais le verdict est tombé et le monde respire[1] : bien que la France soit le pays occidental à avoir le plus souffert du terrorisme ces dernières années, les Français ont résisté aux sirènes de la xénophobie et du repli, rejetant à plus de 65% la candidate d’extrême-droite, Marine ... Lire
  • geab 114 pic Crise systémique globale 2017-2021 – Phase de recomposition chaotique du monde : « ré-atterrissage » national, crash ou rebond ? April 2017 - Cette expression de « recomposition chaotique » nous est apparue résumer assez bien l’étape où nous en sommes du développement de la crise, une étape indiquée ici comme s’étendant sur quatre années et qui comportera des phases de progression distinctes. En cette première moitié de l’année 2017, force est de constater que les efforts de réorganisation du monde sur une logique transnationale ont tous échoué : . le système inter- ou supranational édifié au XXe siècle (ONU, FMI, BM, OTAN, etc.) n’a pas réussi à s’adapter et à chapeauter la nouvelle configuration géopolitique de facto multipolaire du début du XXIe siècle ; il est aujourd’hui en plein marasme, et ce sous toutes ses formes, y compris régionales (UE, Mercosur, etc.) ; . les expériences prometteuses menées par les émergents à la fin de la ... Lire
  • geab 113 pic Amérique de Trump : la levée du tabou du défaut de paiement US March 2017 - Sans Kissinger pour négocier le pétrodollar et remettre la monnaie américaine au centre du jeu mondial après le choc de l’annonce de Nixon en 1971 d’interrompre la convertibilité du dollar en or, le billet vert ne serait plus la référence mondiale depuis plus de 40 ans déjà. Trump saura-t-il s’entourer de conseillers de même calibre – et saura-t-il les écouter ? Car un choc de même ampleur est en gestation : il s’appelle défaut de paiement sur la dette publique étasunienne. C’est en effet le tabou qu’a levé l’élection de Trump. Alors, prophétie auto-réalisatrice ou sain débat ? Solution ou catastrophe ? L’impensable défaut souverain S’il est un pays interdit de défaut sur sa dette publique, ce sont les États-Unis. Les bons du Trésor US sont en effet au cœur du système financier mondial, considérés ... Lire
  • pic geab.eu Dislocation statistique globale : la démultiplication des outils de mesure de la réalité économique February 2017 - Dans la crise systémique globale que nous traversons, notre équipe parle depuis quelques années déjà de « brouillard statistique » pour qualifier l’incapacité des outils actuels à mesurer l’économie réelle, voire la manipulation de ceux-ci afin de faire correspondre les résultats au discours politique (ou l’inverse). Si l’on met de côté cette tentation de manipulation, ce « brouillard statistique » provient également du fait que l’économie évolue profondément et que les indicateurs d’hier (PIB, chômage, etc.) ne sont plus pertinents dans le monde d’aujourd’hui. Après quelques vaines velléités de transformation de ces indicateurs depuis plus d’une décennie, nous voyons à nouveau naître de nouvelles initiatives que nous anticipons durables cette fois-ci, et qui occasionneront à court terme une certaine confusion avant de s’harmoniser d’ici 2025 sous l’impulsion d’instances internationales comme le G20. Des limites ... Lire
  • pic GEAB 111 Monnaies, finance, Europe, démocratie, configuration géopolitique : Les 35 tendances 2017 du GEAB January 2017 - Chaque début d’année, LEAP/E2020 vous offre un panorama résumé des grandes tendances « Up and Down »[1] de l’année qui commence. Outre l’intérêt intellectuel de cette contribution de LEAP/E2020, qui reflète bien entendu nombre des analyses de nos chercheurs au cours des derniers mois, elle vise à permettre une meilleure perception des priorités au sein de l’actualité, tout en fournissant des pistes de recommandations. Cette liste peut ainsi aider très concrètement le lecteur du GEAB à se préparer à l’année à venir. Avec depuis onze ans des taux de réussite variant entre 69 et 85%, cette anticipation annuelle est donc une aide à la décision particulièrement concrète pour les prochains douze mois. Les 35 tendances relevées ci-après ont pour prédicats quelques Très Grandes Tendances 2017 que voici : . les conséquences de la ... Lire
  • Démon-étisation : l’Inde ouvre en fanfare le bal des QE fiscaux December 2016 - Depuis le 8 novembre 2016, l’Inde réalise une révolution monétaire d’une ampleur jamais vue par la taille de la population concernée et la profondeur de la transformation induite. En démonétisant les plus grosses coupures de 500 et 1000 Rs (roupies), le gouvernement indien tente de réintégrer la gigantesque économie parallèle, ou noire, ou plus simplement archaïque, du pays dans l’économie officielle. Dans une nation où 90 % des transactions s’effectuent en liquide, une part gigantesque de l’activité échappe à la connaissance du gouvernement central, et donc aux statistiques, à l’impôt et au financement des infrastructures. Figure 1 – Proportion des transactions en liquide par pays (bleu : en volume ; rouge : en valeur). Source : Bloomberg. Les signes avant-coureurs Il n’y a rien de nouveau dans le fait que ... Lire
  • domino-fr Elections US, Europe, Monde – Effet domino de la victoire de D. Trump : L’euro survivra-t-il à l’année 2017 ? November 2016 - La victoire de Donald Trump à l’élection présidentielle américaine crée les conditions du changement, mais ce n’est pas encore le changement, contrairement à ce que les médias et les populistes croient. Loin d’une « révolution », l’avènement de Trump à la tête du système occidental correspond à une radicalisation de la situation ex ante. En réalité, Trump est le symptôme d’un système occidental qui n’a pas réussi à s’adapter  et qui va désormais tenter de garder la main par la violence pure, ciblant les citoyens et les nations qui proposent des contre-modèles politico-économiques. La méthode va donc changer, mais les objectifs et les grands principes, non. Parmi toutes les incertitudes qui demeurent, il nous faut maintenant comprendre les défis que cela représente pour le reste du monde, notamment pour la ... Lire
  • pic-geab-108 Grand isolement US : quand la finance mondiale se détourne du système dollar, le précipice est proche October 2016 - Le grand isolement volontaire des États-Unis actuellement à l’œuvre vis-à-vis du reste du monde était jusqu’à présent surtout géopolitique, comme nous l’avons maintes fois analysé dans ces pages, un isolement qui ne peut qu’empirer quel que soit le résultat de l’élection présidentielle (pour Trump, ce sera par absence de politique étrangère ; pour Clinton, par la violence de celle-ci). À cette dimension politique s’ajoute maintenant un domaine jusque-là épargné, un domaine qui était d’ailleurs au cœur de la puissance des États-Unis dans le monde d’avant — pas étonnant donc qu’arrive l’instant où lui non plus ne peut plus tenir —, à savoir la finance. L’affaire Deutsche Bank : un épouvantail bien utile Lorsqu’ils sont en difficulté, les États-Unis utilisent sans cesse la même méthode de camouflage de leurs problèmes grâce au déballage au grand ... Lire
  • pic-geab-107 Elections américaines – Brexit – TTIP – Sanctions russes : Quel avenir pour la Commission européenne dans la grande redéfinition de la relation transatlantique? September 2016 - Depuis que le GEAB existe, il a notamment pour vocation d’avertir les opinions publiques et décideurs européens que l’immense reconfiguration géopolitique globale impose de manière vitale à l’UE une mutation profonde. Au cœur de la crise systémique globale, la transformation du rôle et de la place des Etats-Unis dans le monde, associés structurels du projet communautaire depuis l’origine mais surtout depuis la chute du Mur de Berlin, accentue cet impératif d’adaptation non seulement des relations extérieures mais de la nature même de l’UE et de son administration la plus emblématique, la Commission européenne. Dégradation visible de la relation transatlantique Entre le refus franco-allemand de suivre les Etats-Unis dans leur guerre en Irak en 2003[1] et la « possibilité de Trump » à la présidence américaine en cette fin 2016, treize années se ... Lire
  • GEAB 106 pic Colère des peuples, défis démocratiques, crise systémique globale – Balkanisation et retour des empires en Europe centrale et orientale : la bombe de l’échec de l’intégration européenne et de la crise euro-russe June 2016 - En 2014, nous anticipions le délitement du flanc oriental de l’UE suite au différend euro-russe. À peine deux ans plus tard, les dégâts deviennent visibles. Si l’Europe et la Russie ne parviennent pas à renouer le dialogue, le pire est à attendre dans cette partie de l’Europe où les anciens démons sont en pleine résurrection (guerre froide, guerres européennes, balkanisation et logiques d’empire…), et où tous les échecs de la politique d’élargissement de l’UE commencent à se révéler. Figure 1 – Carte de l’Europe centrale et orientale. Source : KKR. L’intégration de l’Europe de l’Est est un échec Le plus grand échec des 30 dernières années de construction européenne est bien la politique d’élargissement aux pays du bloc soviétique. Cette politique essentiellement mue par l’âpreté au gain des entreprises d’Europe de ... Lire