Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 151 Editorial : Welcome to the Brave New World!

GEAB 151

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 15 Jan 2021

Editorial : Welcome to the Brave New World!

Like any living organism, our world died in suffering, blood and excrement (and disease). Like any living organism, a new world is born in suffering, blood and excrement (and vaccination). The baby will grow and transform very quickly, crushing the freedom and the common sense of its parents. Then there will be the teenage tantrums, the severity of which will depend on natural provisions and the education received. Then things will calm down for a while…

Looking ahead to choose the right path

Societal time depends on its components, namely human beings. Therefore, we have a good twenty years (a generation) of reconstruction difficulties, crises and attempts to stabilise ahead of us. During this period, we will have to find ways to keep a cool head because the worse we manage the shocks, the more they will come back to haunt the following cycles. However, if the crises that we are expecting are rooted in the past, they will take the characteristic forms of the “world-after” – new and unusual, more difficult to imagine and to spot.

It will be more vital than ever to try to anticipate shocks and any brewing transformations. Meanwhile, we have to add a more proactive and strategic approach to the simple observation of the future in order to build a vision that will inevitably take the form of a new kind of humanism in order to take a humanity now clearly embarked on the same boat toward desirable outcomes.

Though Covid is re-compartmentalising companies, this is only temporary. In fact, the deafening message of this pandemic is “everyone is connected to everyone“. Globalization certainly needs restructuring, human mobility needs streamlining, economic and energy models need simplifying to make them future-proof, and so on, but we cannot hope for a return to good-old-fashioned self-sufficiency.

Inventing good models of governance

Unfortunately, in Year 1 of the digital era[1], even though the Italian Presidency of the G20 will do its best to get things moving[2], nothing and nobody is able to take the whole of human society and put it on to a common-yet-differentiated path to reorganisation (in varietate concordia[3]). The challenge of the decade (or even the next two) lies in inventing the political model to tackle this titanic mission.

Fortunately, the ideas and technologies to implement the solutions of the future are already there. But the solutions themselves are multiple, as are the parties involved in their invention/implementation (states, global businesses, religious groups, lobbies, etc.), and we will have to find the right governance model – the one that the whole world can more or less agree on, without resorting to force.

Understanding the new Europe

Though the current civilisation crisis is essentially that of the West, in its heart, the EU[4] (as much by its successes as its failures) continues to provide an in vivo experiment in the methods of getting different cultural entities to constructively co-exist. After 25 years of indigence and meanderings (1989-2014)[5], it is in the process of establishing a new model, the effectiveness, acceptability and sustainability of which will be rapidly put to the test.

This model consists of accepting the technocratic nature of the European superstructure that was designed to govern democratic sovereign states in a politically neutral way. This is a Europe mandated by these sovereign states to build highways, data networks, financial mechanisms, and other infrastructure on which the Member States climb and build their respective prosperities; a Europe-supermarket where each State takes what it needs to serve out its electoral terms; a Europe-toolbox to help governments to reconnect with their citizens; …

Good examples of this model are the Banking Union, capital markets union, single currency (digital and non-digital) and other Euro-bonds that today allow the EU-states as a whole to facilitate their internal exchanges, borrow at preferential rates on international markets and which at last provide a glimpse of the capacity to fund continent-wide projects. Another example is Europe’s energy union[6] where each member’s strategic choices plug into a common infrastructure, guaranteeing negotiating power and strategic independence in the face of suppliers.

Figure 1 – Network of gas supply to Europe (pipelines and LNG terminals). Source compiled by, CRS’s Geospatial Information Systems, 26/02/2020

This model is obviously not an end in itself (nothing is in History) but it is probably the most reasonable at this stage, acknowledging the resistances to more political (European Democracy by F. Biancheri) and/or centralising (federal Europe) visions, and getting things moving forward again.

That said, this non-political Europe could quickly come up against the dangers linked to the inconsistent global position that this model leads to for our continent. A dispute has already begun between Germany which, in line with the characteristics of the model described above, is trying to put common defence into the hands of a third country (in this case, the United States via NATO) and France, on the other hand, clinging to a strategically independent Europe, thus sticking with a principle eminently legitimate but inapplicable given the absence of a democratic mandate and/or agreement between the Member States likely to legitimize any common foreign policy (in particular in the context of a global leadership war between the US and China, something that we’re not even close to resolving).

This dispute could swiftly topple the new model… unless it provides the framework for new creative solutions.

Reassuring public opinion

We’ve yet to add the people to this sketchy outline of the challenges in the coming decade. And in fact, they are likely to be sidelined in the construction phase of this new digital era. We anticipate that they themselves will be encrypted and digitised[7]. They have already lost their capacity to contribute positively to the organising of the Brave New World: by lack of any shared political vision, inadequate models for education and information, atavistic resistance to change, rejection of scientific rationality,… beyond borders, populations clump together in large communities pf certainties, ready to fight with each other.

On the Western side, two camps radicalised by their growing polarization are already emerging from this cacophony:

. An “international-progressive”[8] extremised camp, ready to lynch anyone not joining their ranks to fight for the rights of women and homosexuals, against racism (mostly black), and for the environment and animal protection… struggles that they claim they’re the only ones legitimate to fight. Shown in the media under the most flattering of lights, their theses serve to nourish the anger of the other camp…

. An equally radical “identity-reactionary” camp, whose mission is to save Western civilisation and overturn the social and moral order by tightening the ranks around a Judeo-Christian identity. They are ready to lynch all the “Others”. This camp is all the more dangerous because it has been careful to grow away from the spotlight that it has learned to be wary of and knows how to control (we will return in more detail to this emerging trend).

Between the two, it is hard for ordinary people to find a rational path.

Trying to avoid the worst

The unstable human factor will be managed along various methods, depending on the country, government and time, ranging from reinventing education systems that can reconnect citizens with the realities of this new world to simply switching off large parts of the population – following the model inaugurated by the United States four years ago, leading to the removal of rights to be heard and have fair treatment in the press of 74 million Trump voters[9] accused of being racist[10]; or, 18 months ago, by a “democratic” India decided to cut off from the world 10 million Kashmiris accused of terrorism.[11]

The choices that countries will make to recreate the social cohesion will define their subsequent influence in the world: those who choose the facile route of brutal totalitarianism will find themselves in the background of those that are able to keep their focus on rationality and humanism in the General Chaos of this oh-so-grey dawn, thus naturally imposing their model.

But the complexity of the challenges facing humanity and the power of today’s thought-control tools suggest that the beginning of the era will look like the dystopias dreamt up by 20th-century science-fiction authors – a “brave new world”.

Join the GEAB Community on LinkedIn for more discussions on this topic.

______________________

January GEAB Café

This sketchy outline of the coming decade provides the framework for our usual January overview of annual trends for Europe and the world, broken down into society, geopolitics, economics, finance, etc.

We invite you to debate these trends at our next GEAB Café (in English this time) on Tuesday 19 January from 6 pm to 7.15 pm, CET.

Contact Geta Grama-Moldovan at info@leap2040.eu to sign up (GEAB subscribers only)

 

____________________________

[1] Digital technology is certainly not a recent invention, but until 2020, the Internet was a tool that served the material world. Today, it’s almost exactly the opposite : the material world is nothing more than a framework for a fully digitised society (human society, production, business, discussions, payment methods, work, entertainment, war, and so on).

[2] Source: EU Observer, 11/01/2021

[3] European motto

[4] And all the other models of regional integration: ASEAN, the African Union and the European Union are currently the more interesting communities of states models to observe.

[5] The fall of the Berlin wall to its reconstruction with the crisis in Ukraine.

[6] We’re thinking particularly of the recent addition of Azeri gas to the European energy grid. Source: S&P Global, 04/01/2021

[7] In the last edition, we were talking about the underworld from which the new world would emerge (secret agents, terrorists and the mafia). Source: GEAB, 15/12/2020. This month, we anticipate that, in a reverse movement, citizens are going to switch to a “digital-mode” in response to our democracies being muzzled. We will return to this idea in the 2021 Overview.

[8] This camp is paradoxically “progressive” while advocating merits of a kind of cultural suicide – the end to consumption, children, meat, gender, etc.

[9] Source: IPS News, 25/11/2020

[10] Statements by Merkel, Macron and others seem to indicate that Europe is beginning to worry about the censorship by private companies of democratically elected presidents’ Twitter accounts. Source: Al Jazeera, 11/01/2020

[11] Source: Geo TV, 08/01/2021

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
In summary

After the year of "reflection" that the long Covid break of 2020 has provided humanity, Year One of the World After, or the "Digital Age", takes us on a trip [...]

2021 is full of events that could not be held in 2020 due to the pandemic.  Some of these dates are still uncertain, and the 2021 Calendar that we’re setting [...]

The post-election statement made by German Defence Minister Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer ("The idea of European strategic independence goes too far if it nurtures the illusion that we can ensure Europe’s security, [...]

As we have already stated in various issues of the GEAB, agriculture as we know it is undergoing remarkable change. While we often see farming as a rural, analogue activity, [...]

One of the main points of instability in the reformed system emerging today is how out of touch leaders are. This year, we’ve scraped the barrel and it’s undermining all [...]

Related articles
GEAB
15 Feb 2021

WaterTech2040: The challenge (and risks) of bringing water to all

#climate #geopolitics #governance #watertech

Many of us have grown up in countries where access to water is taken for granted; where a constant and secure supply of clean water has become the norm. Safe [...]

GEAB
15 Feb 2021

2021, the European space and the awakening of strength

#europe #governance #space

2020 has been particularly difficult for the European space industry. Besides the suffering from the COVID-19 crisis, the European space economy is also suffering from several other shortcomings. Today, we [...]

GEAB
15 Feb 2021

A Reader’s Digest of the web anticipations over 3 deadlines: 2021/22, 2025, 2030

#finance #geopolitics #governance

In March 2019 our teams published a Reader’s Digest of the anticipations found on the net with the first key date of 2020 for which some analysts had announced the [...]

Home Editorial : Bienvenue dans le meilleur des mondes

GEAB 151

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Jan 2021

Editorial : Bienvenue dans le meilleur des mondes

Comme tout organisme vivant, notre monde est mort dans la souffrance, le sang et les excréments (et la maladie). Comme tout organisme vivant, un monde nouveau naît dans la souffrance, le sang et les excréments (et la vaccination). Le bébé va grandir et se transformer très vite, écrasant sur son passage la liberté et le bon sens de ses parents. Puis il fera une crise d’adolescence plus ou moins violente, selon ses dispositions naturelles et l’éducation qu’il aura reçue. Avant de se stabiliser quelques temps…

Anticiper pour prendre les bons chemins

Le temps sociétal étant calé sur celui des parties qui le composent, à savoir les êtres humains, nous en avons donc pour une bonne double décennie (une génération) de difficultés et de crises de reconstruction et d’efforts de stabilisation. Pendant cette période, il va falloir trouver les moyens de garder la tête à peu près froide car moins bien seront gérés les chocs, plus ils reviendront hanter les cycles suivants. Or, les crises qui nous attendent, si elles trouvent leurs racines dans le passé, prendront des formes caractéristiques du monde d’après, donc nouvelles et inhabituelles, plus difficiles à imaginer et à repérer en somme.

Il sera plus indispensable que jamais de tenter de discerner par avance les chocs et transformations qui se préparent. Dans le même temps, il va falloir ajouter à la simple observation de l’avenir une démarche plus volontariste et stratégique destinée à bâtir une vision qui prendra inévitablement la forme d’un nouvel humanisme pour avoir une chance de stabiliser le monde et d’emmener vers des horizons souhaitables et compatibles une humanité désormais embarquée sur un même bateau.

Si actuellement la Covid-19 recompartimente les sociétés, ce n’est que temporaire. De fait, le message assourdissant de cette pandémie, c’est bien « Nous sommes tous connectés à tous.» Certes, la globalisation est à réorganiser, la mobilité humaine à rationaliser, les modèles économiques et énergétiques à simplifier pour les rendre compatibles avec l’avenir, … mais aucun repli autarcique étanche durable n’est à espérer.

Inventer les bons modèles de gouvernance

Malheureusement, en cet an 1 de l’ère digitale[1], même si la présidence italienne du G20 en 2021 fera son maximum pour initier la dynamique[2], rien ni personne n’est en capacité d’emmener l’humanité sur les voies de cette réorganisation à la fois différenciée et commune (in varietate concordia[3]). Tout le défi de la décennie (voire de ces deux décennies) tient dans l’invention d’un modèle politique adapté à cette mission titanesque.

Les idées et les technologies sont, quant à elles, bien là pour mettre en œuvre les solutions d’avenir. Mais ces solutions elles-mêmes sont multiples, les acteurs de leur invention/implémentation sont nombreux et divers (Etats, giga-entreprises, groupes religieux, lobbies, etc.) ; prenant acte de tout cela, il va falloir trouver les voies vers le bon modèle de gouvernance, celui qui saura mettre tout le monde à peu près d’accord autrement que par la force.

Comprendre la nouvelle Europe

Si la crise civilisationnelle actuelle est essentiellement celle de l’Occident, en son sein l’UE[4], par ses succès autant que par ses échecs, continue à fournir une expérience in vivo des moyens de faire cohabiter de façon constructive des entités culturelles différentes. Après 25 ans d’indigence et d’errements (1989-2014)[5], elle est en train de mettre en place un nouveau modèle dont l’efficacité, l’acceptabilité et la pérennité seront rapidement testées.

Ce modèle consiste à assumer le caractère technocratique de la superstructure européenne conçue comme une administration politiquement neutre au service d’États démocratiques souverains : une Europe chargée par ces États souverains de construire les autoroutes, réseaux de données, mécanismes financiers, et autres infrastructures sur lesquelles monteront les États membres pour assurer leurs prospérités respectives ; une Europe-supermarché où chaque État prend ce dont il a besoin pour servir ses mandats électoraux ; une Europe- boîte à outils pour aider les États à se reconnecter à leurs citoyens ; …

Un bon exemple de ce modèle nous est fourni par les unions bancaires, unions de marchés de capitaux, monnaie commune (digitale ou non) et autres euro-obligations qui permettent aujourd’hui aux membres de toute l’UE de faciliter leurs échanges internes, d’emprunter à taux préférentiel sur les marchés internationaux et font enfin entrevoir une capacité de financement de projets à la taille du continent… ; ou encore par cette Europe de l’énergie[6] où les choix stratégiques de chacun se branchent sur une infrastructure commune qui garantit un pouvoir de négociation et une indépendance stratégique face aux fournisseurs.

Figure 1 – Réseau d’approvisionnement en gaz nature de l’Europe (gazoducs et terminaux GNL) – Source compilée par CRS’s Geospatial Information Systems, EverCRSReport, 26/02/2020

Ce modèle n’est bien évidemment pas une fin en soi (rien ne l’est dans l’histoire) mais il est probablement le plus raisonnable à cette étape, actant de toutes les résistances aux visions plus politiques (démocratie européenne de F. Biancheri) et/ou centralisatrices (Europe fédérale), et permettant de recommencer à avancer.

Cela dit, cette Europe non politique pourrait rapidement buter sur les dangers liés à l’incohérence du positionnement global que ce modèle induit… La dispute a d’ailleurs déjà commencé entre une Allemagne qui, en toute logique avec les caractéristiques du modèle décrit plus haut, est tentée de remettre la défense commune dans les mains d’un pays-tiers (en l’occurrence les Etats-Unis via l’OTAN) chargé de mettre tout le monde d’accord ; et une France qui tient mordicus à une Europe stratégiquement indépendante, suivant un principe éminemment légitime mais actuellement inapplicable compte tenu de l’absence de mandat démocratique et/ou d’entente entre les États susceptibles de légitimer une politique étrangère commune (en particulier dans un contexte de guerre de leadership global américano-chinois qui n’est pas près de se résoudre).

Cette dispute a de quoi faire rapidement échouer le nouveau modèle… à moins qu’elle ne fournisse le cadre à l’invention de solutions créatives.

Rassurer les opinions publiques

Les populations mondiales manquent encore à ce paysage schématique des enjeux de la décennie à venir. Et, de fait, elles risquent d’être mises entre parenthèses dans la phase de construction de cette nouvelle ère digitale. Nous anticipons qu’elles seront elles-mêmes cryptées et numérisées[7], n’ayant aujourd’hui plus la capacité de contribuer positivement à l’organisation du monde nouveau : absence de vision politique commune, modèles d’éducation et d’information inadéquats, résistance atavique au changement, rejet de la rationalité scientifique,… au travers des frontières, les populations s’agrègent en grandes communautés de certitudes prêtes à en découdre les unes avec les autres.

Côté occidental, deux camps radicalisés par leur polarisation croissante émergent déjà de cette cacophonie :

. un camp « international-progressiste[8] » extrémisé, prêt à lyncher quiconque ne rejoint pas ses rangs dans les combats pour les droits des femmes et des homosexuels, contre le racisme (noir uniquement), pour l’écologie et la défense des animaux… combats qu’il prétend être le seul légitime à mener ; placées sous les feux médiatiques les plus flatteurs, ses thèses nourrissent la colère sourde de l’autre camp…

. un camp « identitaro-réactionnaire » tout aussi radical, qui s’est donné pour mission de sauver la civilisation occidentale et de retourner à l’ancien ordre social et moral en resserrant les rangs autour d’une identité judéo-chrétienne, prête à lyncher tous les « Autres » – camp d’autant plus dangereux qu’il a pris soin de grandir loin des spotlights dont il a appris à se méfier et qu’il saura contrôler (nous reviendrons amplement sur cette mouvance émergente qui nous fera regretter l’humanité des populistes honnis).

Entre les deux, la rationalité du citoyen promet d’être bien malmenée.

Tenter d’éviter le pire

La manière de gérer le facteur humain d’instabilité passera par diverses méthodes selon les pays, les gouvernements et les moments, allant de la réinvention de systèmes éducatifs aptes à reconnecter les citoyens aux réalités du monde nouveau, au débranchement pur et simple de pans entiers de population – suivant le modèle inauguré il y a 4 ans par les États-Unis aboutissant à retirer droit de cité – et traitement médiatique équitable – à 74 millions d’électeurs de D. Trump[9] accusés d’avoir la rage (d’être racistes)[10] ; ou, il y a 18 mois, par l’Inde « démocratique », décidant de couper durablement du monde 10 millions de Cachemiris accusés de terrorisme[11].

Des choix que feront les pays pour recréer la cohérence sociale dépendra d’ailleurs leur influence par la suite dans le monde : ceux qui choisiront les voies faciles du totalitarisme brutal se retrouveront au second plan par rapport à ceux qui parviendront à garder le cap de la rationalité et de l’humanisme dans le chaos général de cette aube si grise, imposant naturellement leur modèle.

Mais la complexité des défis auxquels l’humanité fait face et la puissance des outils de contrôle de la pensée promettent surtout un début d’ère semblable aux dystopies imaginées par les auteurs de science-fiction du XXe siècle, un vrai « meilleur des mondes ». Ce n’est même plus original de le dire.

Retrouvez la GEAB Community sur LinkedIn pour en parler !

 

GEAB Café de janvier !

Ce paysage schématique de la décennie à venir fournit le cadre de notre habituel panorama de janvier des tendances de l’année pour l’Europe et le monde en matière de société, géopolitique, économie et finance… tendances que nous vous invitons à venir débattre lors de notre prochain GEAB Café (en anglais cette fois) le mardi 19 janvier de 18h00 à 19h15.

Inscriptions auprès de Geta Grama-Moldovan : info@leap2040.eu (réservé aux abonnés)

__________________________________________

[1] Certes le numérique n’est pas une invention récente, mais jusqu’en 2020, internet était resté un outil au service du monde matériel. Désormais, c’est presque le contraire… en tous cas, le monde matériel n’est plus que le cadre d’une société intégralement digitalisée (société humaine, production, business, échanges, moyens de paiement, travail, divertissement, guerre,…).

[2] Source : EUObserver, 11/01/2021

[3] Devise européenne

[4] … et tous les modèles d’intégration régionale : ASEAN, Union Africaine et Union européenne sont actuellement les modèles de communauté d’Etats les plus intéressants à observer.

[5] De la chute du Mur à sa reconstruction avec la crise ukrainienne.

[6] On pense au récent branchement de gaz azéri sur la grille énergétique européenne. Source : S&PGlobal, 04/01/2021

[7] Dans le dernier numéro, nous parlions du monde d’en-dessous d’où allait émerger le monde d’après (agents secrets, terroristes, mafias). Source : GEAB, 15/12/2020. Ce mois-ci, nous anticipons que, dans un mouvement inverse, le citoyen va prendre un « maquis digital » en réponse au muselage de ce qu’il reste des démocraties. Nous reviendrons sur cette notion dans le panorama 2021.

[8] Ce camp présente notamment le paradoxe d’être « progressiste » tout en prônant sur le fond une sorte de suicide civilisationnel : arrêt de la consommation, des enfants, de la viande, des genres, …

[9] Source : IPSNews, 25/11/2020

[10]  Entre les déclarations d’A. Merkel et d’E. Macron et autres, il semblerait que l’Europe commence à s’émouvoir des censures par des entreprises privées de comptes twitter de présidents élus par des démocraties « infaillibles » (aux dires des Démocrates). Source : AlJazeera, 11/01/2020

[11]  Source : GeoTV, 08/01/2021

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

Après l’année de « réflexion » que la grande pause Covid a fournie à l’humanité en 2020, l’An 1 du monde-d’après, ou « Ere digitale », nous fait passer « de l’autre côté du miroir ». [...]

L’année 2021 est chargée d’événements qui n'ont pas pu se tenir en 2020 du fait de la pandémie. Certaines de ces dates restent encore incertaines, de fait, le calendrier 2021 [...]

Les déclarations post-élections américaines de la ministre allemande de la Défense, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer (« l’idée d’une autonomie stratégique de l’Europe va trop loin si elle nourrit l’illusion que la sécurité, [...]

Comme nous l'avons déjà indiqué dans plusieurs numéros du GEAB, l'agriculture telle que nous la connaissons est en train d’évoluer de manière remarquable. Alors que nous considérons souvent l'agriculture comme [...]

L’un des principaux points d’instabilité dans le système réformé qui voit le jour actuellement, c’est le décrochage administrateurs-administrés qui touche le fond cette année et menace tous les progrès réalisés [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
15 Mai 2021

Signe des temps – Le clan Berlusconi prend le contrôle de l’Europe des médias

#europe #medias #politique

Une news business lourde de sens politique : les géants français et italien des médias Vivendi (Bolloré) et Mediaset (Berlusconi) jettent l’éponge sur leurs différends, chacun reprenant ses billes et son [...]

GEAB
15 Mai 2021

2025-2030 : Retour à la « raison nucléaire »

#énergie #europe #gouvernance #monde #nucleaire

Pour aborder un sujet aussi complexe que l’énergie, les équipes de LEAP ont fait appel à l’intelligence collective du GEAB - à travers le GEAB Café du 20 avril 2021 [...]

GEAB
15 Avr 2021

L’UE, bâtisseuse de confiance entre US et Chine : Quelques recommandations naïves à l’intention des responsables européens

#gouvernance #monde #UE

Face aux immenses défis que la confrontation US-Chine fait peser sur le monde, l’Europe doit être consciente qu’elle n’est pas un acteur négligeable, qu’elle doit poser publiquement ses intérêts spécifiques [...]