Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 122 Calendar of future events: February-May 2018

GEAB 122

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 15 Feb 2018

Calendar of future events: February-May 2018

The future is full of factual data on which must be based anticipations that shed light on our decisions. That’s why, once a quarter, our team shares with GEAB readers this ‘raw’ data of its work in the form of an annnotated calendar for the next three months; a calendar which everyone can adapt to their own concerns; a simple and original illuminating tool.

February 9-25 – PyeongChang, South Korea: The Winter Olympic Games  

As we already mentioned in the ‘up and down trends’ of last month, the only interesting thing to anticipate around these Winter Olympic Games is the rapprochement between North and South Korea. Contrary to what some in the media are trying to make us believe, South Korea has invited North Korea to take part in these Games. It has also chosen a strategic location in the middle of the whole Korean Peninsula and in a city with a name very similar to that of the North Korean capital (PyongYang/PyongChang). Kim Jong-Un’s sister was even invited to open the Games. The current South Korean government intends to make the world aware of its appeasement with the northern part of the peninsula. This looks like a situation that may force the United States to reconsider its strategy. Ready to talk to North Korea?[1]

February 15-16 – Sofia, Bulgaria: EU/Informal Meeting of Foreign Affairs Ministers (Gymnich format)  

On the agenda are Syria, North Korea and the Balkans. The Foreign Affairs Ministers of the five candidate countries are invited to join the meeting on the second day.

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
In summary

At the beginning of February, the US stock markets, followed by the financial markets of the rest of the world, experienced a violent correction. In two days, the Dow Jones [...]

Brexit seemed to have opened up the long-awaited project of redefining the functioning and objectives of the European machine. But today Brussels prefers to boast about the UK's difficulties, and, thinking [...]

In this short column, we are discussing, in the form of brief alerts, several risks that our bulletin cannot develop further, but concerning which we want, nevertheless, to warn our [...]

- Oil: Bottom down - Businesses: beware of bankruptcies galore - Businesses: beware of bankruptcies galore - Bitcoin and cryptocurrency: everything is under control - Precious metals, safe assets Oil: [...]

Related articles
GEAB
12 Jul 2019

Future of the European Tourism : The ‘Lascaux Cave’ Syndrome

#economy #europe #tourism

The Lascaux cave is a prehistoric site discovered in the Dordogne in 1940. Soon after, it was opened as a tourist attraction, which ended up endangering the magnificent rock paintings. [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
12 Jul 2019

European Tourism 2020-2030: The improbable alliance between tourism and protectionism

#asia #economy #europe #multipolarworld #tourism

Contrary to the feverish dreams of officials in Brussels and our capitals, fuelled by the prospect of an exponential growth in the global flow of tourists, the EU will soon [...]

Geta Moldovan
15 Jun 2019

Investments, trends and recommendations (Jun 2019)

#cryptos #energy #gold #investment #oil

Crypto-currencies: Gold 2.0? With the greatest caution, playing the diversification and flexibility game to reduce possible risks, we advise you to start investing in the cryptos that now have safe-haven [...]

Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 122 Calendrier du futur – Février-mai 2018

GEAB 122

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Fév 2018

Calendrier du futur – Février-mai 2018

L’avenir est plein de données factuelles sur lesquelles il convient de fonder les anticipations qui éclairent nos décisions. C’est pourquoi, tous les trimestres, notre équipe partage avec ses lecteurs ces données « brutes » de son travail sous la forme d’un calendrier commenté des trois prochains mois. Un calendrier que chacun pourra adapter à ses propres problématiques. Un outil d’éclairage simple et inédit.

9-25 février – PyeongChang, Corée du Sud : Jeux olympiques d’hiver

Comme nous l’évoquions déjà dans les tendances « down » du mois dernier, la seule chose intéressante qu’il y ait à anticiper autour de ces Jeux olympiques d’hiver, c’est le rapprochement entre les Corées du Nord et du Sud. Contrairement à ce que certains médias tentent de faire accroire, c’est bien la Corée du Sud qui a invité la Corée du Nord à participer à ces Jeux. De même qu’elle a choisi un lieu stratégique, au milieu de la péninsule coréenne prise dans son ensemble et dans une ville portant un nom très semblable à celui de la capitale nord-coréenne (PyongYang/PyeongChang). La sœur de Kim Jong-Un était même invitée à l’ouverture des Jeux. Le gouvernement actuel sud-coréen entend bien rendre de notoriété mondiale son intention d’apaisement avec le nord de la péninsule. Un état de fait qui contraint les États-Unis à revoir leur stratégie. Prêts à discuter avec la Corée du Nord[1] ?

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

Début février, les Bourses américaines, et dans leur foulée l’ensemble des marchés financiers mondiaux, ont connu une violente correction. L’indice Dow Jones a ainsi effacé en deux jours seulement ses [...]

Le Brexit semblait avoir ouvert le chantier tant attendu de la redéfinition du fonctionnement et des objectifs de la machine européenne. Las, Bruxelles préfère aujourd’hui se gausser des difficultés du [...]

Dans cette petite rubrique, nous abordons sous forme de brèves les risques que notre format ne nous permet pas de développer, mais contre lesquels nous souhaitons mettre en garde nos [...]

- Pétrole : effet élastique ! - Entreprises : attention faillites en pagaille - Bitcoin et cryptomonnaies : sous contrôle - Métaux précieux, valeurs sûres Pétrole : effet élastique ! Les effets d’annonces de [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
12 Juil 2019

Avenir du Tourisme en Europe : Le syndrome « Grotte de Lascaux »

#economie #europe #tourisme

La grotte de Lascaux est un site préhistorique découvert en Dordogne en 1940. Elle est vite devenue une attraction touristique qui a fini par mettre en péril les magnifiques peintures [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
12 Juil 2019

Tourisme européen 2020-2030 : L’improbable alliance entre tourisme et protectionnisme

#asie #economie #europe #mondemultipolaire #tourisme

Contrairement aux rêves fiévreux des fonctionnaires de Bruxelles et de nos capitales, nourris par les perspectives d’exponentialisation des flux touristiques mondiaux, l’UE cessera bientôt d’être la première destination touristique au [...]

Geta Moldovan
15 Juin 2019

Investissements, tendances et recommandations (juin 2019)

#cryptomonnaies #énergies #investissement #or #petrole

Cryptomonnaies : or 2.0 ? Avec la plus grande prudence et en jouant la diversification et la souplesse pour réduire les risques, nous vous conseillons de prendre des positions dans les cryptos [...]