Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 112 European Real Estate: Caution

GEAB 112

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 15 Feb 2017

European Real Estate: Caution

Here and there[1] we may read some optimistic analyses on the European property market, saying either that the “revival” is here, that the sector is in good health, and so on. As our readers might guess, we are less enthusiastic and suggest the utmost caution in this regard, although the outlook is not uniformly and entirely gloomy.

The real estate market remains hard to analyse because of the actions of the various economic and political players. The perspectives are very uncertain this year, so the utmost caution is required. Many shocks are expected (elections in Europe, economic and geopolitical turmoil, etc.), but, as we have seen with the unexpected rise in the financial markets following the election of Trump or further with the Brexit affair, the reactions of the system have become essentially unpredictable now.

So far, the interest rates, which have been kept down by the central banks, largely explained the good shape of Western real estate. Despite the first movements initiated by the Fed, our team does not anticipate a strong rise in rates by the ECB or the Fed, notably because Trump’s policy needs a weak dollar, and because the timid return of inflation in Europe is mainly due to oil prices and does not cause hyperinflation. Therefore, property borrowing rates are likely to remain very low in the coming year (despite a slight recovery), which will continue to support the housing market. One can see that the costly policies in support of real estate have all been maintained despite the state of the finances of the various countries, indicating that it is a sensitive political subject which will not be dropped soon: the system avoids at all costs the fall of real estate prices…

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
In summary

Within the global systemic crisis that we are now experiencing, our experts have been talking for some years about "statistical fog" to qualify the inability of today's tools to measure [...]

February 15-16 / Astana: Next round of peace talks on Syria The peace in Syria initiative launched by Russia, Turkey and Iran in the wake of the December 29 ceasefire [...]

We anticipate that this European state will face several economic, cultural and political difficulties this year and next. First, the rise of the euro will hurt German exports; the stabilisation [...]

The post-Brexit Europe does not need the extreme right-wings, it is already lining up with the national-European model proposed by the British. The antagonism between European and national levels, which [...]

Euro: keep believing in it! The LEAP team now believes that the more we are told about the difficulties of the euro, the more we must hear "course change needed" [...]

Related articles
Geta Grama-Moldovan
15 Sep 2019

2020: IMF, a collateral victim of the US-China trade war

#currencies #euro #europe #finance #governance

It's not only Hong Kong that finds itself in the middle of the crossfire of the US-China trade war. The IMF may also be on the list of collateral victims [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
15 Sep 2019

Bolton – World – US 2020: An American Perestroika

#europe #governance #populism #sociey #trump

In line with our anticipations in 2006 regarding the fall of the second half of the bipolar system centred around Russia and the United States, the recent dismissal of Trump's [...]

GEAB
12 Jul 2019

Future of the European Tourism : The ‘Lascaux Cave’ Syndrome

#economy #europe #tourism

The Lascaux cave is a prehistoric site discovered in the Dordogne in 1940. Soon after, it was opened as a tourist attraction, which ended up endangering the magnificent rock paintings. [...]

Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 112 Immobilier européen : prudence

GEAB 112

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Fév 2017

Immobilier européen : prudence

On lit çà et là[1] des analyses optimistes sur le marché immobilier européen, que la « reprise » est là, que le secteur est en bonne santé, etc. Nos lecteurs s’en doutent, notre équipe est moins enthousiaste et invite à la plus grande prudence à ce sujet, bien que les perspectives ne soient pas uniformément sombres.

Le marché immobilier reste difficile à analyser à cause des actions des différents acteurs économiques et politiques. Les perspectives sont très incertaines cette année, donc la plus grande prudence est de mise. De nombreux chocs sont bel et bien attendus (élections en Europe, économie, géopolitique…), mais comme on l’a vu avec la hausse inattendue des marchés financiers suite à l’élection de Donald Trump ou au Brexit, les réactions du système sont essentiellement imprévisibles maintenant.

Jusqu’à présent, les taux d’intérêt maintenus au plancher par les banques centrales ont expliqué en grande partie la tenue de l’immobilier occidental. Malgré les premiers mouvements initiés par la Fed, notre équipe n’anticipe pas une forte remontée des taux par la BCE ou la Fed, notamment parce que la politique de Trump a besoin d’un dollar faible et parce que le timide retour de l’inflation en Europe est dû essentiellement au cours du pétrole et ne fait pas craindre d’hyperinflation. Les taux d’emprunts immobiliers resteront donc probablement très faibles dans l’année qui vient (en dépit d’une légère remontée tout de même), ce qui continuera à soutenir le marché immobilier. On remarque également que les coûteuses politiques de soutien à l’immobilier ont toutes été maintenues malgré l’état des finances des différents pays, signe que c’est un sujet politique sensible qui ne sera pas lâché de sitôt : le système s’arc-boute encore pour éviter à tout prix la chute des prix de la pierre…

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

Dans la crise systémique globale que nous traversons, notre équipe parle depuis quelques années déjà de « brouillard statistique » pour qualifier l’incapacité des outils actuels à mesurer l’économie réelle, voire la [...]

15-16 février – Astana : prochain tour des négociations de paix en Syrie L’initiative de paix en Syrie, lancée par la Russie, la Turquie et l’Iran dans la foulée de [...]

Nous prévoyons que l’Allemagne devra affronter plusieurs difficultés économiques, culturelles et politiques en 2017 et l’année suivante. En premier lieu, la hausse de l’euro nuira considérablement à la bonne tenue [...]

L’Europe post-Brexit n’a pas besoin que les extrêmes-droites soient arrivées au pouvoir pour se mettre déjà au diapason du modèle national-européiste proposés par les Britanniques. L’antagonisme entre le niveau européen [...]

Euro : continuer à y croire L’équipe LEAP estime aujourd’hui que plus on nous parle des difficultés de l’euro, plus il faut entendre « changement de cap » plutôt que « fin de l’euro ». [...]

Articles en relation
Geta Grama-Moldovan
15 Sep 2019

FMI 2020 : victime collatérale de la guerre commerciale US-Chine

#euro #europe #finance #gouvernance #monnaies

Il n’y a pas que Hong Kong à se trouver dans le feu croisé de la guerre commerciale US vs Chine. Le FMI pourrait bien figurer au nombre des victimes [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
15 Sep 2019

Bolton – Monde – US 2020 : Une Perestroïka américaine

#europe #gouvernance #populisme #societes #trump

En phase avec nos anticipations de 2006 concernant la chute de la deuxième moitié du système bipolaire centré autour de la Russie et des Etats-Unis, le récent limogeage du conseiller [...]

GEAB
12 Juil 2019

Avenir du Tourisme en Europe : Le syndrome « Grotte de Lascaux »

#economie #europe #tourisme

La grotte de Lascaux est un site préhistorique découvert en Dordogne en 1940. Elle est vite devenue une attraction touristique qui a fini par mettre en péril les magnifiques peintures [...]