Home Silver Update – Crucial battle over price discovery in the second half of 2021

GEAB 153

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 16 Mar 2021

Silver Update – Crucial battle over price discovery in the second half of 2021

After years of depressed prices as a result of short selling[1] and the distraction of cryptocurrencies, the silver price is currently showing improved strength – even while it continues to be buffeted on all sides by contrary winds.  The white metal has recently benefitted from a dramatic surge in interest, with prices climbing to levels not seen since the silver bull market of 2011-12. The surge has been driven by a number of factors; a turn in the commodity cycle, increased demand from ETFs and industry, and more recently a new army of young, aggressive, media-savvy retail investors[2]. We see this market returning to a peak over the summer as industrial demand, hedge funds, investors and bullion dealers fight over the remaining supply[3]; and growing premiums force a re-assessment of the present price discovery system.

A year that has lifted the lid on the silver market

A lot has happened in the silver market since our major article (GEAB 135) and our update on the precious metals (GEAB 145). 2020 started dramatically with the Covid-19 market crash taking silver prices down to record lows at 12 dollars an ounce[4], along with everything else! Once things settled, the outlook for silver looked dire for a time as market sentiment wavered between the perma-bulls and the establishment rhetoric that sought to keep people out of precious metals by keeping the prices low[5]. However, this situation could not last as first gold took off, and then the silver bull market finally got under way in July. Once unleashed the price rose steeply from 19 to 29 dollars in only 4 weeks, before consolidating around 27 dollars. In September a short pull-back brought prices back to their rising channel.

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
Contents

The ideological revolution of the European Union (EU) imposes a corresponding structural revolution. 2020 has accelerated all the trends of systemic transformation. But in 2021, this free flight into the [...]

Integration of an open foresight approach into the decision-making process, willingness to involve citizens to it, visionary and ambitious strategies... what’s happening to the European Commission?!! Our junior team immersed [...]

Whether or not one believes in the prophecy of Saint Malachi, who identified Pope Francis II as Peter the Roman (the last of a line of 112 popes) one thing [...]

A short guide for investors in times of reflation/inflation  In the current context of extreme uncertainty, we have put together a series of 8 recommendations and practical tips to get [...]

Related articles
GEAB
15 Oct 2021

Investments, trends and recommendations (October)

#cryptos #energy #finance #investment #techvalues

Cash, gold, commodities and cryptos - A strong case  The above remarks reinforce our recommendations from last March "A short guide for investors in times of reflation/inflation". A new monetary [...]

GEAB
15 Oct 2021

Dollar: Time is running out

#crisis #currencies #dollar #finance

The dollar will collapse only if the United States decides to let it collapse. The country is now in a situation where it is getting closer to having to make [...]

GEAB
15 May 2021

Investments, trends and recommendations (May 2021)

#bitcoin #Crypto #currencies #dollar #finance #investments #oil

Crypto-currencies: Maximum mistrust // Dollar : Standardisation // Technology stocks: Too virtual // Iron ore: Volatility in sight // Oil: Agility, security //  If the “back to basics” trend that [...]

Home Silver / Second semestre 2021 : bataille cruciale pour la détermination des prix

GEAB 153

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Mar 2021

Silver / Second semestre 2021 : bataille cruciale pour la détermination des prix

Après des années de prix déprimés en raison des ventes à découvert[1] et de la distraction des crypto-monnaies, le prix de l’argent (silver, le métal) semble actuellement en meilleure forme – même s’il continue d’être secoué de tous côtés par des vents contraires.  Le métal blanc a récemment bénéficié d’un regain d’intérêt spectaculaire, les prix grimpant à des niveaux jamais vus depuis le marché haussier de l’argent de 2011-12. Cette envolée est due à plusieurs facteurs : un tournant dans le cycle des matières premières, une demande accrue de la part des fonds négociés en bourse (en anglais ETF pour Exchange Traded Fund) et de l’industrie et, plus récemment, une nouvelle armée de jeunes investisseurs de détail agressifs et très médiatiques[2]. Nous voyons ce marché revenir à un sommet au cours de l’été, alors que la demande industrielle, les fonds spéculatifs, les investisseurs et les négociants en lingots se disputent l’offre restante[3] et que les primes croissantes obligent à réévaluer le système actuel de détermination des prix.

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

La révolution idéologique de l’Union Européenne (UE) impose une révolution structurelle. 2020 a accéléré toutes les tendances de transformation systémique. Mais, en 2021, ce libre envol dans le vide intersidéral [...]

Intégration d’une démarche prospective ouverte au processus décisionnel, volonté d’y associer les citoyens, stratégies visionnaires et ambitieuses… mais qu’arrive-t-il à la Commission européenne ?! Notre junior team s’est plongée dans une [...]

Que l'on croie ou non à la prophétie de saint Malachie qui a identifié le pape François II comme Pierre le Romain (le dernier d'une lignée de 112 papes), une [...]

Petit guide de l’investisseur en temps de reflation/inflation Dans le contexte actuel d’extrême incertitude, nous vous avons concocté une série de huit recommandations et conseils pratiques pour traverser cette période [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
15 Juin 2022

2023 – 2025 : Risques de black-out. Répondre à l’impérative nécessité de prosilience

#economie #énergie #finance #géopolitique #gouvernance

Déni, illusion de sécurité, sentiment d’impuissance et impréparation semblent prévaloir en matière de préparation de la population au risque d’un blackout à l’échelle européenne. Blackout reste un terme qui effraie [...]

GEAB
15 Mai 2022

NFT, numérisation, métavers… Demain, le marché de l’art contemporain sera à la portée de tous

#art #finance #investissement #metavers #NFT

Le marché de l’art s’est adapté au choc de 2020 à une vitesse impressionnante. Le fait que les investissements fleurissent dans ce secteur, que la conjoncture macroéconomique soit bonne ou [...]

GEAB
15 Mar 2022

Investissements, tendances et recommandations

#art #cryptos #dollar #énergie #immobilier #investissement #matières premieres

Matières premières – Questionner les certitudes // Energie – Fragmentation du marché // Cryptomonnaies – Contre-intuition // Dollar – Transmutation // Immobilier – Attention // Art – « La beauté [...]