Home Towards a eurozone managed by intergovernmentalism

GEAB 124

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 15 Apr 2018

Towards a eurozone managed by intergovernmentalism

The construction of a federal structure for the eurozone got off to a bad start. The vision of the French government to strengthen the structure of the monetary union by creating new eurozone institutions, particularly a Ministry of Finance with its own budget and a convergence of business tax rates[1], already seemed like a somewhat limited ambition given what is at stake. That said, it was a first step towards building the infrastructure needed for the good functioning of the common currency.

Germany puts a brake on the eurozone’s federalisation

This little ambition appears to have been undermined already. In March, the unblocking of the German political situation, which was a pretext for maintaining the status quo, did not prove to be decisive at all. The European Council of 22nd March 2018 remained silent in its conclusions on this issue[2], even though it was meant to start work on it. On 10th March, the German weekly Der Spiegel announced that the German Federal Government was not ready to move on the issue[3]. Officially, this impossibility was connected to the length of negotiations between the partners of the Berlin ‘Grand Coalition’, but this excuse didn’t seem legitimate since European integration is officially one of the agreement points between SPD and CDU/CSU[4].

As a matter of fact, the new German ‘Grand Coalition’ government does not seem any more willing than its predecessor to support a ‘federalist’ reform of the eurozone to include supranational institutions. The German media has also confirmed that Chancellor Angela Merkel is not eager to make a ‘big step forward’ in this area[5]. The messages sent by the new Federal Minister of Finance, the Social Democrat Olaf Scholz, have been along these lines since his appointment. During his meeting with Bruno Le Maire, the French Minister of Economy and Finance, he made no commitments and the two men mostly agreed to differ…

As for the financial policy of the Grand Coalition,[6] it includes additional payments to Europe, of course, but for specific projects, especially those related to border defences. Each time, the federal coalition insists that these payments must depend on ‘conditions’[7]. Nothing is planned for the eurozone, but it seems evident that, once again, all ‘budgets’ will have to be controlled by Berlin and subject to conditions, among which will be respect for the current rules.

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
The summary

In view of Narendra Modi's very probable re-election in 2019, it is time to take stock of the Indian Prime Minister's first term; a somewhat mixed balance sheet, both economically [...]

Saudi Arabia has recently sent a significant signal concerning the establishment of a ‘New Middle East’, perfectly in line with all our anticipations for this world region. Let’s take a [...]

Three times a year, the GEAB offers its readers a selection of ‘weak signals’ consisting of brief alerts in a variety of sectors (environment, finance, technology, geopolitics, etc.), revealing profound [...]

- Oil / Gas: Good news for the producing countries - Iran: Not much longer - Frontier markets: Opportunities in sight Oil / Gas: Good news for the producing countries [...]

Related articles
GEAB
15 Mar 2021

European Commission: Ideological revolution at work

#anticipation #europe #European Union #governance

Integration of an open foresight approach into the decision-making process, willingness to involve citizens to it, visionary and ambitious strategies... what’s happening to the European Commission?!! Our junior team immersed [...]

GEAB
15 Mar 2021

EDITO – Europe facing disillusions: dreaming of a better world, waking up in a battlefield

#covid #europe #European Union #geopolitics #governance

The ideological revolution of the European Union (EU) imposes a corresponding structural revolution. 2020 has accelerated all the trends of systemic transformation. But in 2021, this free flight into the [...]

GEAB
15 Feb 2021

2021, the European space and the awakening of strength

#europe #governance #space

2020 has been particularly difficult for the European space industry. Besides the suffering from the COVID-19 crisis, the European space economy is also suffering from several other shortcomings. Today, we [...]

Home Vers une zone euro gérée par l’intergouvernementalité

GEAB 124

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Avr 2018

Vers une zone euro gérée par l’intergouvernementalité

La construction d’une structure fédérale pour la zone euro semble désormais mal partie. Le projet porté par le gouvernement français visant à créer des institutions propres à l’union monétaire afin d’en renforcer la construction, notamment un ministère des Finances de la zone euro doté d’un budget propre et une convergence des taux d’imposition sur les entreprises[1], pouvait déjà sembler une ambition assez réduite au regard de l’enjeu. Cela dit, il constituait un premier pas vers la construction d’une infrastructure nécessaire au bon fonctionnement de la monnaie unique.

Le frein allemand à la fédéralisation de la zone euro

Cette ambition réduite semble déjà battue en brèche. En mars, le déblocage de la situation politique allemande, qui était le prétexte pour justifier le maintien du statu quo, n’a pas apporté de mouvement décisif. Le conseil européen du 22 mars 2018 est resté muet sur la question[2] dans ses conclusions, alors même qu’il devait en ouvrir le chantier. Le 10 mars, l’hebdomadaire allemand Der Spiegel avait annoncé que le gouvernement fédéral allemand n’était pas prêt à avancer sur le dossier[3]. Officiellement, cette impossibilité était liée à la durée des négociations entre les partenaires de la « grande coalition » berlinoise, mais cette excuse n’apparaît pas recevable puisque l’intégration européenne est officiellement un des points d’accord entre SPD et CDU/CSU[4].

En réalité, le nouveau gouvernement de « grande coalition » allemand ne semble pas plus désireux que son prédécesseur de s’engager dans une réforme « fédéraliste » de la zone euro incluant des institutions supranationales. La presse d’outre-Rhin confirme d’ailleurs que la chancelière Angela Merkel n’est pas désireuse d’engager un « grand bond en avant » dans ce domaine[5]. Les messages envoyés par le nouveau ministre fédéral des Finances, le social-démocrate Olaf Scholz, vont dans ce sens depuis sa nomination. Lors de sa rencontre avec le ministre français de l’Économie et des Finances, Bruno Le Maire, il n’a pris aucun engagement et les deux hommes se sont surtout mis d’accord sur leurs divergences…

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

Dans la perspective de la très probable réélection de Narendra Modi l’an prochain, il est temps d’établir un bilan du premier mandat du premier ministre indien, un bilan pour le [...]

L’Arabie saoudite a récemment envoyé un énorme indicateur de mise en place du Nouveau Moyen-Orient parfaitement en phase avec toutes nos anticipations concernant cette région du monde. Un point donc [...]

Trois fois par an, le GEAB propose à ses lecteurs une sélection de « signaux faibles » consistant en brèves multisectorielles (environnement, finance, technologie, géopolitique, etc.) révélatrices de transformations profondes dont la [...]

- Pétrole/gaz : bonne nouvelle pour les pays producteurs - Iran : ça ne va plus tarder - Marchés « frontières » : opportunité à l’horizon Pétrole/gaz : bonne nouvelle pour [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
15 Mar 2021

Une révolution idéologique est en cours au sein de la Commission européenne

#anticipation #europe #gouvernance #union europeenne

Intégration d’une démarche prospective ouverte au processus décisionnel, volonté d’y associer les citoyens, stratégies visionnaires et ambitieuses… mais qu’arrive-t-il à la Commission européenne ?! Notre junior team s’est plongée dans une [...]

GEAB
15 Mar 2021

EDITO – L’Europe à l’heure du désenchantement : rêver d’un monde meilleur, se réveiller au milieu d’un champ de bataille

#covid #europe #géopolitique #gouvernance #union europeenne

La révolution idéologique de l’Union Européenne (UE) impose une révolution structurelle. 2020 a accéléré toutes les tendances de transformation systémique. Mais, en 2021, ce libre envol dans le vide intersidéral [...]

GEAB
15 Fév 2021

2021, le spatial européen et le réveil de la force

#espace #europe #gouvernance

L’année 2020 a été particulièrement difficile pour le spatial européen. Outre les effets collatéraux de la crise de la Covid-19, l’économie européenne de l’espace souffrait déjà de plusieurs autres tares. [...]