Trump’s America: the lifting of the US default taboo

geab 113 pic

Without Kissinger to negotiate the petrodollar and put the US currency back to the centre of the global game after the shock of Nixon’s announcement in 1971 to halt the convertibility of the dollar to gold, the greenback would never have been the world benchmark since more than 40 years. Will Trump really know how to surround himself with advisers of the same calibre? Also, will he take their advice? Because a shock of the same magnitude is currently in gestation: it is called ‘payment default’ of the US public debt. It is the taboo which was lifted by the election of Trump. So, will it be a self-fulfilling prophecy or healthy debate? A solution or a total disaster?

The unthinkable sovereign default 

If there is a country on this planet banned from defaulting on its public debt, it is definitely the United States. US Treasuries are at the heart of the global financial system, considered the ultimate safe haven and the most liquid bond market in the world. It goes without saying that no one expects the United States to miss the slightest reimbursement of its sovereign obligations. The deflagration that such a default would produce seems, apparently, incomparable with that of the Lehman Brothers bankruptcy, if we refer to the amounts at stake ($600 billion for Lehman, against $20 trillion of US public debt) and to the systemic place Wall Street takes, and more generally the finance on the other side of the Atlantic. The United States, if it wants to hold its rank in the present world order, is clearly deprived of this option, quite common for other countries nevertheless (for your information, over the last 35 years we can count no less than 70 sovereign defaults in the world[1]…).

fig1Figure 1 – Global public debt in default or under restructuring, as a fraction of the global GDP, 1800-2008. Source: Les Crises.

But the United States has never failed in its federal debt. This is undoubtedly a safe bet and so a US sovereign default is really unthinkable. Unthinkable, right? Just like Brexit or the election of Donald Trump!

The certainty crumbles  

For the record, the US Federal State has never failed before. And yet … How could one qualify the 1971’s convertibility of the dollar to gold stopping[2], resulting in a major dollar value loss compared to the precious metal, and along with it the North American debt? Or maybe the similar devaluations of 1933 and 1934 under F. Roosevelt[3]? As we can see, this does not necessarily take the form of a clear non-payment… And since we talk about Roosevelt, does Trump’s “programme”, consisting of an economic revival via infrastructure, not vaguely make us think of the New Deal[4], creating a priori the same temptation to strongly devalue the greenback[5]?

This could be risky speculation if Trump had not himself displayed during his campaign his willingness to renegotiate the US public debt if necessary[6]. Careful though, we do not pretend that the newly elected Trump is doing what he wants on this matter (or on any other, moreover), quite the contrary: he is undoubtedly instrumental on many points of his policy. Nevertheless, the taboo is lifted[7] and it is no longer inconceivable that the United States will, some day, record a default (in one form or another) on its federal public debt, which is already changing everything in the way people think.

Our analyses on this topic in the GEAB, which started many years ago, now take their full meaning[8]

Writing off the debt

What this change in perspective on US debt brings is well summed up by Trump’s phrase: « I would borrow, knowing that if the economy crashed, you could make a deal. And if the economy was good, it was good. So therefore, you can’t lose. »[9]. To be honest, it is difficult not to give him credit for common sense: he would do wrong to deprive himself of borrowing on the markets[10], given that the country can do so at historically low rates. Moreover, we are speaking of the United States, and not Argentina or Greece, and markets would soon forget a US default and lend again to the new economic prospects of this country, (re-)opened by this restructuring. The painful period seems thus reduced to the few months preceding and following the default.

fig2Figure 2 – US 10-year treasury maturity rate, 1975-2017. Source: FRED.

The lifting of this taboo has as first consequence the debunking of the US public debt, which will indeed be necessary if Donald Trump wants, as he promised, to reduce taxes whilst carrying out his plan to support the US economy … There is definitely no question of default right now as the conditions have never been more favourable to borrowings. The official forecasts, which we find very optimistic, show a public deficit growing up to 5% of the GDP over the next ten years.

fig03Figure 3 – Deficits (or surplus) over the next decade in the US, as a share of the GDP, 2000-2027.
Source: New York Times.

We anticipate that the lifting of the default taboo will lead the US to borrow even more than what the current projections claim. According to the growth which the country will be able to generate[11], the public debt should thus increase from its present value of 105% of the GDP to probably 115% to 125% under this first mandate of Trump (see the detail of our calculation in the box below); a sharp increase in just four years. And again, without counting the 17% debt of the local States and governments. In view of the current standards, these are not levels which could automatically lead to bankruptcy, but it is a trajectory hardly sustainable in the long run[12].

Here are the details of a very rudimentary calculation confirming this increase: if Trump achieves the growth target of 4% per year (which we strongly doubt), the GDP of the United States in four years will be of about $22 trillion. But for this to happen, the US will have spent $100 billion per year in its infrastructure plan, and will have lowered taxes by 30% for individuals (Trump’s promise was a drop of 30 – 35%, source: FactCheck, 04/11/2016) and by 50% for businesses (going from a tax rate of 35% to 15%, source: The Atlantic, 23/01/2017); resulting in a shortfall of approximately $620 billion (source: Tax Policy Center). Compared to the current deficit of about $600 billion, the new deficit would therefore be around $1300 billion. Add to this an average debt interest rate which could rise by at least 1%, meaning an additional expenditure of about $200 billion. Overall, the debt in four years would be around $26 trillion, or 118% of the optimistic GDP value at that time. We assume here that the cuts which will undoubtedly be made in the social security budget, will be cancelled out by a military budget increase.

Debt Ceiling  

However, there is one main obstacle standing in the way of a slippage in the US debt; it is the debt ceiling, which re-enters into force on March 15 this year[13] (after a one and a half year suspension). If the ceiling is not raised, the government will be in default before the fall. But who can decently think that the Republicans can oppose a ceiling raise, now that one of theirs controls the White House? They had not succeeded when Obama was in power and threatened not to raise the ceiling only to get counterparts. Of course, a mini-psychodrama is once again to be expected from March 15 on, as it is an opportunity for easy pressure to serve many agendas and to oblige the president to remain within reasonable limits. But our team anticipates, without too much risk, a sustained increase in the country’s debt ceiling, or even a new period of suspension. The Senate seems to have already given up any opposition in this respect[14].

However, in order to avoid the recurrence of this episode too often, and given the high level of indebtedness projected by Trump, the US president could, in our opinion, propose a change in the calculation of the debt ceiling: as for the European countries, it would be more convenient (and somehow much more logical) to express it as a share of the GDP, especially since Trump hopes that his debt policy will generate high growth…

Risk of runaway

The debt ceiling (which has at least the merit of existing and imposing the topic to the public debate!) is therefore not a very serious safeguard against the accumulation of federal debt. Could a president, who has parliament on his side, blow the debt higher? Yes, as we have seen with Reagan or George W. Bush, for example (see note 12). But the difference this time is that the federal debt was low when these presidents entered the White House (respectively 30% and 50% of the GDP)… The difference also is that the world had confidence in America at the time.

The markets, despite their unshakeable faith in the Great America, and despite their recent performance, no longer have the blind confidence they once had[15]. The default of payment no longer seems taboo to them either. Thus, the nearer the maturity of sovereign bonds, the higher their interest rate has increased in recent years, which validates our analysis above; they are not afraid to lend for 10 or 30 years (because the country will quickly recover from a possible default), but become more cautious on short-term maturities.

fig04Figure 4 – US bond interest evolution for 30 years (orange), 10 years (blue), 5 years (red), 2 years (green), 1 year (brown), 6 months (purple), on a 0 basis in 2012. Source: Bloomberg.

The comparison with the German bonds is also eloquent: while these are sinking into negative land, within the United States the movement is contrary.

fig05Figure 5 – Bond interest evolution (orange US and German blue), 2 years maturity, on a 0 basis in 2012. Source: Bloomberg.

If we add to this that foreign central banks, with China in the lead, continue[16] to sell their US Treasury bonds[17], and that serious doubts appear around the liquidity of the US sovereign bond market[18], one can see that the risk of runaway is not completely ruled out, as long as the Fed is hostile to the US President’s policy[19] and continues to raise the rates without a new quantitative easing.

Between real temptation and means of pressure 

In view of the above, on the one hand there is the desire to take advantage of historically low rates to borrow strongly (hoping to generate growth), and on the other hand a risk of runaway and a mistrust at the same time among foreign countries and markets. So what should we think of Donald Trump’s statements about the possibility of a US payment default?

Finally, by caricaturising a little, it looks like an invitation to China to finish quietly, in the next two years, to get rid of most of its US bonds. China obviously looks suspiciously at Trump’s uncertain politics and his sabre-rattling, and sees here the perfect opportunity to get rid of her dollars under the pretext of supporting the yuan, something the United States wants by the way.

But is an American default really credible? Let’s have a look at who owns the debt[20]:

fig06

Apart from draining social security funding, which is possible within a certain limit, there is no visible sense in defaulting on intra-government debt. It is also difficult to touch any North American savings or pension funds. A cascading bankruptcy of US banks or insurers is also not in the country’s interest; and concerning the states, this may be a means of punishing the most recalcitrant, but the room for manoeuvre is limited. All that remains is the Fed[21], and above all the debt held abroad, about 40% of the entire debt. Hence a discount of 25% for example would only bring down the total debt by 10%, which is not an enormous oxygen balloon. And the simplest way to achieve the same result is a devaluation of the dollar, far less complicated than a sovereign default…

So, it’s not a very credible option. A default of overseas debt would nevertheless be a radical solution to ensure protectionism and the retreat desired by the new administration, and also to put an end to the role of the dollar as a reference currency which can be seen as too heavy to bear for a country that can no longer afford it. But it is unlikely that Donald Trump would voluntarily choose a solution that would weaken the US to such a degree on the world stage.

Still, in the hands of an impulsive and unpredictable president who puts the “art of the deal” above everything and integrates in his “crazy strategy” the principles of the game theory[22] (method used by Varoufakis in his negotiations with the Troika in 2015, in which the Minister of the Economy had put in the negotiation the idea that the Grexit was less frightening for Greece than for the Eurozone and was ready to go towards it), the lifting of the taboo and the threat of a non-payment is creating, in front of the foreign countries, a great vehicle of negotiation. An effective tool, certainly, but dangerous as well.

Subscribe to read more articles in the GEAB 113 / 2017

 _________________________________

Notes:

[1]     Source: Les Crises, 04/06/2015
[2]     Source: Wikipedia
[3]     Source: Wikipedia
[4]     All possible resemblances between Trump and Roosevelt stops there, of course…
[5]     We keep saying, and have for months, that contrary to what the media says, the perspective for 2017 is more towards a weak dollar than to a strong one. And we are maintaining this anticipation, knowing the priority which will be given by the G20, in tune with Trump’s programme, to restore of the trade balances; this aim would be better served by a weak dollar. Source: Nasdaq, 10/03/2017
[6]     Source: The Atlantic, 22/06/2016
[7]     The populists have, at least, the merit to lift taboos … for better or for worse.
[8]     We are inviting our readers to go back to our GEAB bulletins n°40 (December 2009), n°42 (February 2010) and n°44 (April 2010), for instance.
[9]     Source: CNBC, 06/05/2016
[10]    We could say the same about the European countries which, if they did not get preoccupied with their public debt levels, could benefit from the negative rates of the bonds to create economic stimuli. Something which Draghi is inviting people to do… Source: Irish Times, 18/07/2016
[11]     For 2016, it was only of 1,6 %, for a public debt raise of about 6% of the GDP. Sources: CNN, 27/01/2017; ZeroHedge, 04/01/2017.
[12]     Again, our estimation is very conservatory if we compare it to the historical figures of certain similar presidents: Reagan, in a way closer to Trump, raised during his two mandates the debt to the level of 186%; George W. Bush, to 101% (without mentioning Roosevelt and his 1048%!). Source: The Balance, 21/02/2017
[13]     Source: USA Today, 09/03/2017
[14]     Source: Reuters, 09/03/2017
[15]     We have already developed this analysis in the GEAB no 108 of October 2016.
[16]     A movement already analysed within the GEAB no 108 and no 110 of October and December 2016.
[17]     Source: CNN, 19/01/2017
[18]     Sources: Bloomberg, 02/02/2015; Bloomberg, 25/01/2016
[19]     Which determined us to say that Trump would drop Ms Yellen on the first occasion, an anticipation we keep, by the way…
[20] Source: The Balance, 27/02/2017
[21] If it accepts a devaluation: we go back to a loss of independence for the US central bank…
[22] An explanation of the « game theory » is offered by the BBC. Source: BBC, 18/02/2015


—————————————————

Amérique de Trump : la levée du tabou du défaut de paiement US

geab 113 pic

Sans Kissinger pour négocier le pétrodollar et remettre la monnaie américaine au centre du jeu mondial après le choc de l’annonce de Nixon en 1971 d’interrompre la convertibilité du dollar en or, le billet vert ne serait plus la référence mondiale depuis plus de 40 ans déjà. Trump saura-t-il s’entourer de conseillers de même calibre – et saura-t-il les écouter ? Car un choc de même ampleur est en gestation : il s’appelle défaut de paiement sur la dette publique étasunienne. C’est en effet le tabou qu’a levé l’élection de Trump. Alors, prophétie auto-réalisatrice ou sain débat ? Solution ou catastrophe ?

L’impensable défaut souverain

S’il est un pays interdit de défaut sur sa dette publique, ce sont les États-Unis. Les bons du Trésor US sont en effet au cœur du système financier mondial, considérés comme le safe haven ultime et comme le marché d’obligations le plus liquide au monde. Il va sans dire que personne n’envisage que les États-Unis puissent manquer le moindre remboursement de leurs obligations souveraines. La déflagration qu’un tel défaut engendrerait serait, semble-t-il, sans commune mesure avec celle de la faillite de Lehman Brothers, si l’on se réfère aux montants en jeu (600 milliards de dollars pour Lehman, contre 20 000 milliards de dette publique US) et à la place systémique de Wall Street, et plus généralement de la finance outre-Atlantique. Des États-Unis qui tiennent leur rang dans l’ordre mondial actuel sont clairement privés de cette option, qui est pourtant assez courante pour les autres pays (au cours des 35 dernières années, nous ne comptons pas moins de 70 défauts souverains dans le monde[1]…).

fig1Figure 1 – Dette publique mondiale en défaut ou en restructuration, en proportion du PIB mondial, 1800-2008. Source : Les Crises.

Mais les États-Unis, eux, n’ont jamais fait défaut sur leur dette fédérale. C’est indubitablement une valeur sûre et un défaut souverain US est donc vraiment impensable. Impensable ? Au même titre que le Brexit ou que l’élection de Donald Trump ?

La certitude s’effrite

Officiellement, l’État fédéral américain n’a effectivement jamais fait défaut. Et pourtant… Comment qualifier l’arrêt en 1971 de la convertibilité du dollar en or[2], entraînant par rapport au métal précieux une perte de valeur majeure du dollar, et avec elle de la dette nord-américaine ? Ou encore les dévaluations similaires de 1933 et 1934 sous F.D Roosevelt[3] ? On le voit, cela ne prend pas forcément la forme d’une cessation de paiement claire et nette… Et, puisque nous évoquons Roosevelt, le pan du « programme » de Trump consistant en une relance économique via les infrastructures ne fait-il pas vaguement penser au New Deal[4], créant a priori la même tentation de dévaluer fortement le billet vert[5] ?

Cela pourrait être de hasardeuses spéculations si Trump n’avait pas lui-même affiché lors de sa campagne sa volonté de renégocier la dette publique américaine si nécessaire[6]. Attention, nous ne prétendons pas que le nouvel élu fait ce qu’il veut sur ce sujet (ni sur aucun autre, d’ailleurs), bien au contraire : il est sans doute instrumentalisé sur de nombreux points de sa politique. Néanmoins, le tabou est levé[7] et il n’est désormais plus inconcevable que les États-Unis fassent un jour défaut (sous une forme ou une autre) sur leur dette publique fédérale, et cela change déjà tout.

Les analyses de notre équipe à ce sujet dans le GEAB, il y a déjà de longues années, prennent donc maintenant tout leur sens[8]

Libération de l’endettement

Ce qu’apporte ce changement de perspective sur la dette US est bien résumé par cette phrase de Trump : « J’emprunterais, sachant que si l’économie se crashe, on pourrait négocier. Et si l’économie va bien, c’est bien. Donc, on ne peut pas perdre[9]. » À dire vrai, difficile de ne pas lui accorder un certain bon sens : il aurait tort de se priver d’emprunter sur les marchés[10], étant donné que le pays peut le faire à des taux historiquement bas. Par ailleurs, les États-Unis ne sont pas l’Argentine ni la Grèce, et les marchés oublieraient bien vite un défaut de paiement US et leur prêteraient à nouveau sans tarder pour profiter des nouvelles perspectives économiques du pays précisément ouvertes par la restructuration. La période douloureuse semble ainsi restreinte aux quelques mois qui précèderaient et qui suivraient le défaut.

fig2Figure 2 – Taux d’intérêt de l’obligation à 10 ans nord-américaine, 1975-2017. Source : FRED.

La levée de ce tabou a donc pour première conséquence de débrider l’endettement public étasunien, qui sera en effet bien nécessaire si Donald Trump veut, comme il l’a promis, réduire les impôts tout en menant à bien son plan de soutien à l’économie… Il n’est évidemment pas question de faire défaut maintenant alors que les conditions n’ont jamais été aussi bonnes pour emprunter. Les prévisions officielles, qui nous semblent très optimistes, font état d’un déficit public grandissant jusqu’à 5 % du PIB dans les dix prochaines années.

fig03Figure 3 – Déficit (ou excédent) public aux États-Unis, en proportion du PIB, 2000-2027. Source : New York Times.

Nous anticipons que la levée du tabou du défaut de paiement va conduire les États-Unis à s’endetter encore davantage que ce que les projections actuelles prétendent. Selon la croissance que le pays arrivera à générer[11], la dette publique devrait ainsi augmenter de sa valeur actuelle de 105 % du PIB à probablement 115 à 125 % sous ce premier mandat de Trump (voir le détail de notre calcul dans l’encadré ci-après), soit une forte augmentation en seulement quatre ans. Et encore, sans compter les 17 % de dette des États et gouvernements locaux… Au vu des standards actuels, ce ne sont pas là des niveaux susceptibles d’entraîner automatiquement une faillite, mais c’est une trajectoire qui n’est guère soutenable à terme[12].

Voici le détail d’un petit calcul très rudimentaire confirmant cette augmentation : si Trump réalise son objectif de croissance de 4 % par an (ce dont notre équipe se permet de douter fortement), le PIB des États-Unis dans quatre ans sera d’environ 22 000 milliards de dollars. Mais pour cela, il aura dépensé 100 milliards de dollars par an dans son plan pour les infrastructures, et baissé les impôts de 30 % pour les particuliers (sa promesse était une baisse de 30 à 35 %, source : FactCheck, 04/11/2016) et de 50 % pour les entreprises (en passant d’un taux d’imposition de 35 % à 15 %, source : The Atlantic, 23/01/2017), soit un manque à gagner d’environ 620 milliards (source : Tax Policy Center). Par rapport au déficit actuel d’environ 600 milliards, le nouveau déficit serait donc de l’ordre de 1300 milliards. Ajoutez à cela un taux d’intérêt moyen sur la dette qui pourrait bien augmenter d’au moins un point de pourcentage, soit une dépense supplémentaire d’environ 200 milliards. Au total, la dette dans quatre ans serait de l’ordre de 26 000 milliards, soit 118 % de la valeur optimiste du PIB à cette période. Notre équipe a supposé ici que les coupes, qui ne manqueront pas d’être effectuées dans le budget de la sécurité sociale, seront annulées par des augmentations du budget militaire.

Plafond de la dette

Il y a toutefois un obstacle qui se dresse sur la route d’un dérapage de la dette US ; il s’agit du plafond d’endettement qui entre à nouveau en vigueur le 15 mars[13] (après une suspension d’un an et demi). Si celui-ci n’est pas relevé, le gouvernement sera en cessation de paiement avant l’automne. Mais qui peut décemment penser que les républicains puissent s’opposer à un relèvement de ce plafond, maintenant qu’un des leurs contrôle la Maison Blanche ? Ils n’avaient déjà pas réussi quand Obama était au pouvoir et ne brandissaient la menace de ne pas relever le plafond que pour obtenir des contreparties. Certes, un mini-psychodrame est une fois encore à prévoir à partir du 15 mars, car c’est l’occasion d’une pression facile pour servir de nombreux agendas et pour obliger le président à rester dans les limites du raisonnable. Mais notre équipe anticipe sans trop de risques un relèvement durable du plafond d’endettement du pays, voire une nouvelle période de suspension. Le Sénat semble d’ailleurs avoir déjà renoncé à toute opposition[14].

Cependant, pour éviter de revivre trop fréquemment cet épisode, et vu le fort endettement supplémentaire que projette Trump, le président US pourrait à ce propos, selon notre équipe, proposer un changement de calcul du plafond de la dette : comme pour les pays européens, il serait plus commode (et, en un certain sens, bien plus logique) de l’exprimer en proportion du PIB, d’autant que Trump espère que sa politique d’endettement génère une forte croissance…

Risques d’emballement

Le plafond de la dette (qui a au moins le mérite d’exister et d’imposer le sujet dans le débat public !) n’est donc pas un garde-fou très sérieux contre l’accumulation de dette fédérale. Un président qui aurait le parlement avec lui pourrait-il dès lors faire exploser la dette ? Oui, comme on l’a vu avec Reagan ou George W. Bush, par exemple (voir la note 12). Mais la différence, c’est que la dette fédérale était faible lorsque ces présidents sont entrés à la Maison Blanche (de l’ordre de 30 % et 50 % du PIB respectivement)… La différence également, c’est que le monde avait confiance dans l’Amérique à l’époque.

Or, les marchés eux-mêmes, malgré leur foi inébranlable dans la Grande Amérique, malgré leur performance récente, n’ont plus la confiance aveugle qu’ils avaient naguère[15]. Pour eux non plus le défaut de paiement ne semble plus tabou. Ainsi, plus l’échéance des obligations souveraines est proche, plus leur taux d’intérêt a augmenté ces dernières années, ce qui valide notre analyse ci-dessus, en cela qu’ils ne sont guère effrayés de prêter à 10 ou 30 ans (car le pays se relèvera rapidement d’un éventuel défaut de paiement), mais deviennent plus frileux sur les échéances courtes.

fig04Figure 4 – Évolution des rendements des obligations US à 30 ans (orange), 10 ans (bleu), 5 ans (rouge), 2 ans (vert), 1 an (marron), 6 mois (violet), base 0 en 2012. Source : Bloomberg.

La comparaison avec les bons allemands est elle aussi éloquente : alors que ceux-ci s’enfoncent en territoire négatif, aux États-Unis le mouvement est inverse.

fig05Figure 5 – Évolution du rendement des obligations US (orange) et allemandes (bleu) à maturité 2 ans, base 0 en 2012. Source : Bloomberg.

Si l’on ajoute à cela que les banques centrales étrangères, Chine en tête, continuent[16] de vendre leurs bons du Trésor US[17], et que des doutes sérieux s’insinuent sur la liquidité du marché des obligations souveraines américaines[18], on voit que le risque d’emballement n’est pas complètement exclu, tant que la Fed est hostile à la politique du président américain[19] et continue de relever ses taux sans faire de nouveau quantitative easing.

Entre tentation réelle et moyen de pression

Alors, au vu de ce qui précède, entre d’une part la volonté de profiter des taux historiquement bas pour emprunter fortement (en espérant générer de la croissance), et d’autre part un risque d’emballement et une défiance à la fois des pays étrangers et des marchés, que faut-il penser des déclarations de Donald Trump sur la possibilité d’un défaut de paiement des États-Unis ?

Finalement, en caricaturant à peine, cela ressemble à une invitation faite à la Chine pour finir tranquillement, dans les deux ans qui viennent, de se débarrasser de la majeure partie de ses bons US… La Chine regarde évidemment d’un œil suspicieux la politique incertaine de Trump et ses rodomontades, et voit là l’occasion parfaite de se séparer de ses dollars sous prétexte de soutenir le yuan comme le veulent les États-Unis.

Mais un défaut américain est-il vraiment crédible ? Il faut pour cela regarder qui détient la dette[20] :

fig066

À part pour assécher les financements de la sécurité sociale, ce qui est possible dans une certaine limite, il n’y a aucun sens à faire défaut sur la dette intragouvernementale. Difficile également de toucher à l’épargne nord-américaine ou aux fonds de pension. Une faillite en cascade des banques US ou des assureurs n’est pas non plus dans l’intérêt du pays ; et concernant les États fédérés, cela peut certes être un moyen de punir les plus récalcitrants, mais la marge de manœuvre est limitée. Il ne reste plus guère que la Fed[21], et surtout la dette détenue à l’étranger, soit en tout environ 40 % de la dette. Ainsi, une décote de 25 %, par exemple, ne ferait baisser la dette totale que de 10 %, ce qui n’est pas un énorme ballon d’oxygène. Et encore, le moyen le plus simple pour arriver au même résultat est une dévaluation du dollar, bien moins compliquée qu’un défaut souverain…

On le voit, ce n’est donc pas une option très crédible. Un défaut vis-à-vis de l’étranger serait néanmoins une solution radicale pour assurer le protectionnisme et le repli sur soi souhaités par la nouvelle administration, et aussi de mettre fin au rôle de monnaie de référence du dollar qui peut être vu comme trop lourd à porter pour un pays qui n’en a plus les moyens. Mais il est peu probable que Donald Trump choisisse volontairement une solution qui affaiblirait à ce point les États-Unis sur la scène mondiale.

Toujours est-il que, dans les mains d’un président impulsif et imprévisible qui place l’« art du deal » au-dessus de tout et intègre dans sa « stratégie du plus fou » les principes de la théorie des jeux[22] (méthode utilisée par Varoufakis dans ses négociations avec la Troïka en 2015, dans le cadre de laquelle le ministre de l’Économie posait dans la négociation l’idée que le Grexit était moins effrayant pour la Grèce que pour l’Eurozone et qu’il était prêt à aller à cette extrémité), la levée du tabou et la menace d’un défaut de paiement forment avant tout, face aux pays étrangers, un énorme levier de négociation. Un moyen efficace certes, mais dangereux aussi…

Abonnez-vous pour lire tous les articles du bulletin GEAB 113/2017

 _________________________________________

Notes :

[1]     Source : Les Crises, 04/06/2015
[2]     Source : Wikipedia
[3]     Source : Wikipedia
[4]     Toute « ressemblance » entre Trump et Roosevelt s’arrête évidemment là…
[5]     Nous répétons depuis plusieurs mois que, contrairement à ce que l’on lit dans la presse, la perspective pour 2017 est plutôt à un dollar faible que fort. Nous maintenons cette anticipation qui est actuellement corroborée par la priorité que commencerait à donner le G20, en phase avec le programme de Trump, à un rééquilibrage des balances commerciales, objectif qui serait davantage servi par un dollar faible. Source : Nasdaq, 10/03/2017
[6]     Source : The Atlantic, 22/06/2016
[7]     Les populistes ont au moins le mérite de souvent lever des tabous… pour le meilleur et pour le pire.
[8]     Nous invitons nos abonnés à relire les GEAB n°40 (décembre 2009), n°42 (février 2010) et n°44 (avril 2010), par exemple.
[9]     Traduction libre de la citation suivante de Trump : « I would borrow, knowing that if the economy crashed, you could make a deal. And if the economy was good, it was good. So therefore, you can’t lose. » Source : CNBC, 06/05/2016.
[10]    On pourrait dire de même des pays européens qui, s’ils ne se préoccupaient temporairement plus de leur taux d’endettement public, pourraient profiter des taux négatifs sur de nombreuses obligations pour entreprendre des stimuli économiques bienvenus. Ce que d’ailleurs Draghi semble inviter à faire… Source : Irish Times, 18/07/2016.
[11]     Pour 2016, celle-ci a été de 1,6% seulement, pour une augmentation de la dette publique d’environ 6 % du PIB. Sources : CNN, 27/01/2017 ; ZeroHedge, 04/01/2017.
[12]     Et encore, notre estimation est très conservatrice quand on la compare aux données historiques des présidents « similaires » : Reagan, en un sens le plus proche de Trump, a augmenté lors de ses deux mandats la dette de 186% ; George W. Bush de 101% (sans mentionner Roosevelt et ses 1048% !). Source : The Balance, 21/02/2017.
[13]     Source : USA Today, 09/03/2017
[14]     Source : Reuters, 09/03/2017
[15]     Nous avons déjà développé cette analyse dans le GEAB n°108 d’octobre 2016.
[16]     Un mouvement que nous analysions déjà dans les GEAB n°108 et n°110 d’octobre et décembre 2016.
[17]     Source : CNN, 19/01/2017.
[18]     Sources : Bloomberg, 02/02/2015 ; Bloomberg, 25/01/2016.
[19]     Ce qui nous a fait dire que Trump se débarrasserait de Yellen à la première occasion, anticipation que nous maintenons…
[20]    Source : The Balance, 27/02/2017.
[21] Si toutefois celle-ci accepte une dévalorisation : on retombe encore une fois sur le sujet de la perte d’indépendance de la banque centrale américaine…
[22] Une explication de ce qu’est la « théorie des jeux » nous est proposée par la BBC. Source : BBC, 18/02/2015.