Home Space 2030: The Chinese New Deal

GEAB 154

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 16 Apr 2021

Space 2030: The Chinese New Deal

By 2030, the International Space Station may have become the first space museum of the late 1990s, when everyone tried to work together. By prohibiting the Chinese from boarding the ISS in 2011,[1] the US compelled China to go its own way. As a result, like during the Cold War years, the next stage of space conquest – namely that of the Moon – will be a competition between American and Chinese camps. On the one hand, the Lunar Gateway, the lunar orbital station project proposed by the Americans in 2018, bringing together Europeans, Canadians and Japanese with a view to a launch in 2024;[2] and on the other hand, the brand new ILRS (International Lunar Research Station), a Chinese-Russian project for a human-inhabited lunar station open to any interested space agency, which is due to see the daylight around 2030.

The small space world regrets this division of research and exploration. That said, let’s not forget that the Cold War years correspond to the 30 glorious years of Space… perhaps even, this competition is what actually allowed the American-Russian war to remain ‘cold’… 

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
Contents

In the US-China war trap which has deepened in recent years, with Joe Biden's arrival in the White House and his strategy of rallying a camp of "allies" around America [...]

Faced with the immense challenges that the US-China confrontation poses to the world, Europe must be aware that it is not a negligible player, that it must publicly state its [...]

2021-2022 18-21/04/2021: The Boao Forum for Asia (BFA) Annual Conference 2021, “A World in Change: Join Hands to Strengthen Global Governance and Advance Belt and Road Cooperation” will take place [...]

The year 2025 is not so far ahead but it is a relevant horizon because it corresponds to the moment when beginner business students will resolutely enter the job market. [...]

Prices: Inflation, inflation, inflation // Equity markets: Reversal for sure  // Taxes: What else?  // Bitcoin-gold: Decoupling  // _______________________________ Prices: Inflation, inflation, inflation // Whichever direction you look, inflation is [...]

Related articles
GEAB
15 Apr 2021

2025 – The day the world will drop the West for China…

#China #governance #world

In the US-China war trap which has deepened in recent years, with Joe Biden's arrival in the White House and his strategy of rallying a camp of "allies" around America [...]

GEAB
15 Feb 2021

2021, the European space and the awakening of strength

#europe #governance #space

2020 has been particularly difficult for the European space industry. Besides the suffering from the COVID-19 crisis, the European space economy is also suffering from several other shortcomings. Today, we [...]

Geta Grama-Moldovan
15 Nov 2020

Investments, trends and recommendations (Nov 2020)

#China #energy #finance #investments

Material wealth: give nothing away Tomorrow's world will be digital, that's for sure. But not before it has been regulated, organised and controlled. As things stand today, there are too [...]

Home Espace 2030 : La nouvelle donne chinoise

GEAB 154

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Avr 2021

Espace 2030 : La nouvelle donne chinoise

A l’horizon 2030, la Station Spatiale Internationale sera peut-être devenu le premier musée de l’Espace de la fin des années 90, quand le monde essaya de travailler ensemble.

En interdisant aux Chinois de monter à bord de la SSI dès 2011[1], les Etats-Unis ont obligé la Chine à avancer de son côté. Résultat, comme dans les années de guerre froide, la prochaine étape de la conquête spatiale – à savoir celle de la Lune – aura lieu dans le cadre d’une compétition entre un camp américain et un camp chinois :  d’un côté le Lunar Gateway, le projet de station orbitale lunaire proposé par les Américains en 2018, emmenant Européens, Canadiens et Japonais en vue d’un lancement en 2024[2] ; et de l’autre, le tout nouveau ILRS (International Lunar Research Station), un projet sino-russe de station habitée lunaire ouverte à toute agence spatiale intéressée, qui doit voir le jour vers 2030.

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

Dans le piège de la guerre US-Chine qui s’est creusé ces dernières années, l’arrivée de Joe Biden à la Maison Blanche et sa stratégie de ralliement d’un camp d’ « alliés » autour [...]

Face aux immenses défis que la confrontation US-Chine fait peser sur le monde, l’Europe doit être consciente qu’elle n’est pas un acteur négligeable, qu’elle doit poser publiquement ses intérêts spécifiques [...]

2021-2022 18-21/04/2021 : La conférence annuelle de 2021 du Forum de Boao pour l'Asie (BFA), "Un monde qui change : joindre nos efforts pour renforcer la gouvernance mondiale et faire [...]

L'année 2025 n'est pas si lointaine mais c'est un horizon pertinent car il correspond au moment où les étudiants débutant en business entreront résolument sur le marché du travail. Mais, [...]

Prix : Inflation, inflation, inflation // Marchés d’actions : retournement assuré // Impôts : What else ? // Bitcoin-or : Découplage // _________________________________ Prix : Inflation, inflation, inflation Quel que soit [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
15 Mai 2024

Investissements, tendances et recommandations (mai)

#banques #chine #euro #finance #investissement #nucleaire #or

MDBC, matériaux critiques, industries numériques, énergies vertes, voitures électriques… La Chine a quelques longueurs d’avance La transition vers les MDBC rajoute une couche de numérisation et va ainsi tendre un [...]

GEAB
15 Avr 2024

Retour sur le calendrier électoral 2024 : signaux faibles d’un monde qui change

#afrique #calendrier #chine #Inde #taiwan

Si deux élections focalisent les regards du monde, les élections européennes de juin et la présidentielle américaine du 5 novembre, d’autres scrutins se calent sur le calendrier international et méritent [...]

GEAB
15 Fév 2024

Les investissements chinois dans le Nord de l’Afrique et au Moyen-Orient : changement du centre de gravité

#afrique #chine #gouvernance #investissement #moyen orient

L’Égypte se trouve à la croisée des routes commerciales, établissant un lien entre deux régions majeures : le nord de l’Afrique et les pays Arabes. Cette position géographique stratégique place l’Égypte, [...]