Home 2022, European Financial System: Disconnection of the City and Multipolarisation of Eurozone Financial Markets

GEAB 121

The monthly bulletin of LEAP (European Laboratory of Political Anticipation) - 15 Jan 2018

2022, European Financial System: Disconnection of the City and Multipolarisation of Eurozone Financial Markets

“Brexit means Brexit”[1]. For Theresa May, soft Brexit does not exist: an exit from the European Union necessarily means an exit from the European single market. Brexit therefore means hard Brexit for the British government. Within our GEAB bulletin no 103, we have already stated the possibility that the City might find itself “on the outskirts of the European continent”[2] by 2020. Along with the negotiation terms, comes the first move induced by the difficult, but inevitable, divorce. And as in any divorce case, the two partners have to share the house furniture. In case of Brexit, the financial companies move their headquarters, assets and jobs to the continent[3].

On the European side, Michel Barnier, the European Chief Negotiator for the UK’s exiting, said that “there could be no special agreement for the City”[4]. Since no other trade agreement with a third country currently covers financial services, the European Commission plans to avoid at any cost a possible à la carte agreement for the UK for fear of a domino effect[5]. Indeed, for Brussels this would endanger the very functioning of the Union by attracting the wrath of countries complying with European directives.

Now more than ever, our team’s anticipations are valid. To set up the independence of the Eurozone, the Europeans seem ready to free themselves from London, even if this means they will leave some feathers behind.

Brexit or no Brexit, London will see its access to the single market restricted and the United Kingdom will be perceived as an unstable continent for investors. Currently we anticipate a gradual disconnection between the City and the single market during and after the post-Brexit transition period, as well as a multipolarisation of the financial services in the Eurozone by 2022.

Comments

To leave a comment sign up now
Contents

To preface our up & down trends presented in this issue, here are the orientations which we consider structuring for 2018. This panorama, combined with the 33 up & down [...]

As happens every year, LEAP/E2020 presents in January a panorama of the "up & down" main trends of the coming year. Besides the intellectual added value of this contribution, which [...]

We are free to be cynic whilst looking ahead to our future and anticipating. When new situations occur, we must not hesitate to analyse them thoroughly and try to extract [...]

Related articles
GEAB
15 Jan 2022

Investments, trends and recommendations (jan)

#economy #finance #investments

Investments - The voice of reason In view of our booklet of trends and all the points of uncertainty we have identified, we would urge you to be careful about [...]

GEAB
15 Jan 2022

Panorama 2022: Trends and anticipations

#economy #finance #geopolitics #politics #society

A cluster of major trends 2022 is shaping up to be a complicated year... After the great pause of 2020, 2021 tried to make it look like things would return [...]

GEAB
15 Dec 2021

Investments, trends and recommendations (dec)

#finance #gold #investment #NFT #tech

Economy: Fleeing into the virtual //  Prices are rising while growth is not forthcoming and commodity prices are no longer even contributing to inflation. The quality of products and services [...]

Home Les bulletins GEAB GEAB 121 Système financier européen 2022 : déconnexion de la City et multipolarisation des places financières de la zone euro

GEAB 121

Le bulletin mensuel du Laboratoire européen d'Anticipation Politique (LEAP) - 15 Jan 2018

Système financier européen 2022 : déconnexion de la City et multipolarisation des places financières de la zone euro

« Brexit means Brexit »[1]. Pour Theresa May, le soft Brexit n’existe pas : une sortie de l’Union européenne est forcément synonyme d’une sortie du marché unique. Brexit signifie donc hard Brexit pour le gouvernement britannique. Dans le GEAB n°103, notre équipe énonçait déjà la possibilité que la City se retrouve « en périphérie du continent européen »[2] à l’horizon 2020. Avec la négociation des termes du divorce viennent les premiers déménagements induits par la difficile, mais inévitable rupture. Et comme dans tout divorce, les anciens mariés se partagent les meubles. Ici, les sociétés financières font migrer locaux, actifs et employés vers le continent[3].

Côté européen, Michel Barnier, le négociateur en chef de la Commission européenne, a déclaré qu’« il ne pourrait pas y avoir d’accord spécial pour la City »[4]. Aucun autre accord commercial avec un pays tiers ne couvrant actuellement les services financiers, la Commission veut à tout prix éviter le cas de figure d’un accord à la carte pour le Royaume-Uni de peur d’un effet domino[5]. En effet, pour Bruxelles cela mettrait en danger le fonctionnement même de l’Union en attirant les foudres des pays qui respectent les directives européennes.

Les anticipations de nos équipes sont plus que jamais validées. Pour asseoir l’indépendance de la zone euro, les Européens semblent prêts à s’émanciper de Londres, même s’ils doivent y laisser des plumes.

Brexit ou non, Londres verra donc son accès au marché unique se restreindre et le Royaume-Uni sera perçu comme un continent instable pour les investisseurs. Nous anticipons aujourd’hui une déconnexion progressive entre la City et le marché unique pendant et après la période de transition post-Brexit, ainsi qu’une multipolarisation des services financiers au sein de la zone euro à l’horizon 2022.

Commentaires

Pour laisser un commentaire, abonnez-vous
Au sommaire

En introduction à nos tendances up&down présentées dans ce numéro, nous élaborons les orientations que nous estimons structurantes en 2018. Ce panorama combiné aux 33 tendances up&down présente une vision [...]

Comme chaque année, LEAP/E2020 vous offre un panorama résumé des grandes tendances « up & down » de l’année qui commence. Outre l’intérêt intellectuel de cette contribution de LEAP/E2020 qui reflète bien [...]

Pour faire de l’anticipation, il ne faut pas hésiter à être cynique. Si un nouvel état de fait apparaît, émerge, il ne faut pas hésiter à l’analyser, tenter d’en extraire [...]

Articles en relation
GEAB
15 Déc 2018

Évaluation de nos anticipations pour 2018 (issues du GEAB n°121 de janvier 2018) : 68 % de succès

#brexit #cryptomonnaies #democratie #evaluation #finance #petrole #POLITIQUE

17 Up et 16 Down Comme chaque année en décembre, nous avons procédé à l’évaluation de nos anticipations de tendances publiées au mois de janvier dernier. Nous tombons sur une [...]

GEAB
15 Déc 2018

Investissements, tendances et recommandations (dec 2018)

#cryptomonnaies #finance #investissements

Recommandation générale : aux abris ! Vous l’aurez compris à la lecture de ce numéro : les nuages s’amoncellent au-dessus de cette fin d’année et du début de la prochaine. Sortez donc les [...]

GEAB
15 Déc 2018

Cryptomonnaies / blockchain : de l’impôt à la démocratie, la vraie révolution en marche

#cryptomonnaies #finance #investissements

Toujours autant décriées par les uns, glorifiées par les autres, les cryptomonnaies posent encore de grandes questions et constituent autant de menaces que d’opportunités selon que l’on se situe du [...]